Easy Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This was absolutely delicious. So glad I found this recipe. Pork shoulder is one of my favorite roasts -- it gets fall-apart-tender when you braise it like this. Wonderful flavors. My husband loved it. Will definitely make again. A few hints. I seared it in a dutch oven, then just added the rest of ingredients and braised it in the same pot. Cooked uncovered for the final half hour so the sauce would reduce slightly. Then to remove some of the fat, once cooked, I moved the roast to a platter, then put a colander over another pot and poured everything into it. Then I put the sauce into a fat separator, and put everything back into the pot together with the leftover juices (sans fat). Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aCookInLaQuintaCA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kattigan
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
DELICIOUS. I followed the recipe almost to the T... I didn't have any shallots so I used green onions instead. Everything was great about this recipe. The smell of it while it was cooking made my neighboring apartment dwellers jealous. I will definitely make this again and again. UPDATE... I tried this again today. As I had plans that were going to keep me away from my home for the day, I decided to make this in my crockpot instead. It was even better! I followed the seasoning to the T... the only difference is that instead of roasting it in the oven, I cooked it on low for 8 hours in my crockpot. The crockpot is much smaller than my roasting pan so the liquids almost completely surrounded the pork. My boyfriend enjoyed it so much he went back for thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kattigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Excellent recipe. The pork is melt-in-your-mouth tender. I substitued greem onions for shallots since I didn't have any and I omitted the beans because I just didn't want beans in the sauce. That didn't affect it at all. Will definitely make this again, perhaps next in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Fabulous. The taste was phenomenal and paired really well with cornbread. A man meal-as my husband says. Next time, however, I'm trying red wine in place of beer and I'll cook it in a deep dutch oven so the meat actually sits a little deeper in the juices. These are just personal preferences. The original recipe is truly wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Colfax, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This recipe never fails. It's perfect and doesn't need any changes. However, I never have shallots, so I've never included them. I also never have stewed tomatoes, so substitute diced tomatoes. It's a great "comfort food" type of meal and always a huge hit. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Wow! Great recipe! I made some adjustments and it turned out much better than I expected - extremely tender and full of flavor. I rubbed the pork shoulder with garlic powder, salt, & pepper before searing on the stove; mixed canned diced tomatoes with Italian stewed tomatoes; substituted the beer with red wine (used about 1 1/2 cups for a 5 lb. roast); diced the shallots and garlic; added more seasonings (thyme, italian mix, and garlic powder); mixed everything together first to taste before pouring over the seared pork shoulder in a crock pot and cooked on High for 5 hours. We're pretty critical when it comes to new recipes, but couldn't find anything we'd change for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was the most tender pork roast I've ever cooked (even better than a crock pot!). Didn't have shallots but used a lg leek and a can of northern white beans instead of the cannallinis. I'm going to try this with a beef roast next week!! Oh, I did the whole thing in a big cast iron skillet. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Believe it or not, I actually switched a can of beer for half a can of coke. I liked the sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was very good. The only thing I would cut down on is the rosemary(unless you like it, which we don't) other than that it was great. will make this again and again. oh and taste even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Beliveau

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Delicious! I used a very lean pork roast and the meat just fell apart. Served it in bowls and it was kind of like a stew with the beans. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUCKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States