Easy Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was a hit with the fam. My mom even dropped by unexpectedly and ended up eating with us- loved it! The meat wasn't dry at all and really loved the beans with it. Didn't have any rosemary and will add a little of that next time. Definitely will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This is the best pork roast ever. Delicious, tender, succulent. I used a white onion and a 14 oz can of tomatoes, but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Please try this if you like roast pork. Lady Alethea is a genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I used white wine instead of beer and a can of diced tomatoes because that was what I had, and Oh. My. Goodness. Melt in the mouth tender, great and classic flavor combination and excellent, classic technique. This is one of my new go-tos for an easy winter meal. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne G.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This is a sound recipe. I was looking for a quick, easy recipe for a bargain pork shoulder roast I recently bought and started with this. Even though I didn't have most of the listed ingredients (forcing me to substitute canned peeled tomato strips for the stewed tomatoes, dried navy beans for cannellini, granulated onion for the chopped onion and shallots, dried rosemary for fresh, and bottled minced garlic for fresh cloves), the results were more than satisfactory. I look forward to trying the recipe as published.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Wow! Great recipe! I made some adjustments and it turned out much better than I expected - extremely tender and full of flavor. I rubbed the pork shoulder with garlic powder, salt, & pepper before searing on the stove; mixed canned diced tomatoes with Italian stewed tomatoes; substituted the beer with red wine (used about 1 1/2 cups for a 5 lb. roast); diced the shallots and garlic; added more seasonings (thyme, italian mix, and garlic powder); mixed everything together first to taste before pouring over the seared pork shoulder in a crock pot and cooked on High for 5 hours. We're pretty critical when it comes to new recipes, but couldn't find anything we'd change for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This is pretty good, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Fabulous. The taste was phenomenal and paired really well with cornbread. A man meal-as my husband says. Next time, however, I'm trying red wine in place of beer and I'll cook it in a deep dutch oven so the meat actually sits a little deeper in the juices. These are just personal preferences. The original recipe is truly wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Colfax, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Delicious! I used a very lean pork roast and the meat just fell apart. Served it in bowls and it was kind of like a stew with the beans. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUCKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This recipe never fails. It's perfect and doesn't need any changes. However, I never have shallots, so I've never included them. I also never have stewed tomatoes, so substitute diced tomatoes. It's a great "comfort food" type of meal and always a huge hit. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This is an awesome recipe for roasted pork. The meat came out so tender! The spices gave it a great taste. Thanks for sharing...will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States