Easy Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Really not sure what all the fuss is - followed the recipe and it was like onion stew - too much just same flavors - garlic, onion, shallots. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is definitely a keeper recipe. The aroma of it cooking was as heavenly as it tastes. I baked it in a high sided cast iron skillet, but next time I will try it in my small slow cooker. I wasn't sure if the recipe called for 10 whole shallots or 10 shallot cloves as there is so much from the onion family in the recipe. I used 10 shallot cloves and only one large onion and it was awesome. Served it in a bowl with crusty French bread and a Caesar salad. Comfort food at its finest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valley Center, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I typically take reviews only so seriously because I know some can be very nit-picky and critical, while others create a completely new recipe all together. I never saw so many positive reviews with little to no renditions/changes to the original recipe so I decided to give this one a try and used the suggestions made by aCookingLaQuintaCA and used my dutch oven. Hands down, unbelievable recipe. The perfect amount of flavor, not too salty, not too bland. The pork just falls apart on the fork it's so tender. I will definitely keep this recipe handy when entertaining large groups. Thank you LADY_ALETHEA for a wonderful meal! Please share more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I was surprised and disappointed at how significant the fragrance and taste of beer was in the final product.The meat turned out tasty, and I certainly kept that, but the beer based broth and its tomatoes, shallots etc smelled like and tasted like hot stale beer. I was hoping to be able to use the whole product sort of like a stew, with the meat and fixins' all on a plate, but I wound up throwing the whole broth mixture out. Meat good, other stuff yuck...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Made this for supper last night. My comment was that it was good. Family corrected me it was fantastic. Super easy. Would never have thought about putting beans in. Thanks for a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Very good recipe! Made exactly as written with the exception of cooking in dutch oven. Easy and excellent. The beer cooking with the rosemary gave incredible smell to the whole house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
One of The Best recipes I've tried from this site. Bravo to the creator. I served it with Mashed potatoes, my style: adding heavy cream to it, a lawyer of mozzarela cheese , some bits of butter, oven 350 for 15 min, sprinkle parmesano cheese on top, oven 10 more minutes.... Flavors combined So Well !! Prepare this during the last 30 min. of the pork in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I made this in the crockpot( 5 hours on high) adding baby carrots, chopped celery and new potatos(Yukon gold). My wife ate two helpings immediately and raved about it the rest of the day. This is definitely a "keeper" recipe and will be made again many times. My wife wants it made weekly! Thanks to Lady Althea for this delicious addition to my files!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Way too much garlic!! Otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
GREAT RECIPE as written! Thank you LADY_ALETHEA for posting it. We LOVE pork roast and I have made it many different ways, but this is unique and a HUGE hit with my entire family (7yrs to 53yrs). I don't normally buy shallots and they were very expensive at the 1st store I went to so I only bought 5. I doubled the recipe (as I always do) since I had a 7.5 lb roast. I decided to go to another store and sure enough the shallots were a fraction of the price, so I purchased 15 more (doubled recipe). I attempted to put everything in my "large" crock pot but all the ingredients did not fit. I transferred everything into my "large" roaster and it was to the tip top (but everything fit)....I cooked it for approx 6-7 hrs on the lower temp and then uncovered it for the last hour at the higher temp. I used 2 bottles of "Moosehead" beer and I did serve it over rice, which was a HUGE HIT!!! It smelled fantastic (and I had a cold). It tasted so "fresh & healthy"......will definitely make again!! DO NOT SKIMP OR ELIMINATE ANY OF THE INGREDIENTS as it is PERFECT the way it is written. THANKS AGAIN and I can't wait until leftovers tonight. I BET IT'S EVEN BETTER TODAY!! P.S. This goes a long way!! I froze 2 big bowls for a later date plus we ate last night and again tonight. TO THOSE WHO GIVE LOWER RATINGS AFTER THEY "ALTER" THE ENTIRE RECIPE: RATE THE RECIPE AS IT IS WRITTEN NOT AS YOU WRITE IT!!! You should then CREATE your own recipe ~ That just cracks me up!!! CHEERS~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States