Easy Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Made this for the family last night, following the recipe exactly. The reviews were so good that I decided to give it a try for something different. Unfortunatley, nobody liked it, including myself. We ate it, but with no rave reviews and I had to let them know not every new recipe works out for us. Maybe I shouldn't have added the liquid from the 2 cans of beans, but since the recipe didn't say to drain, as it did for the stewed tomatoes, I figured that meant to add the liquid. Maybe that's what went wrong, I don't know, but I don't think it would taste much different with or without the liquid. The next day I made BBQ pork sandwiches out of the leftovers and everyone enjoyed those, but was dissapointed in the original recipe. I love making new things for my family so we don't got bored of the regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Like all the reviews, this is excellent! Thank you for sharing such a great recipe. It is appreciated!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Absolutely wonderful!! I stuck with the recipe almost to the T, it's pretty perfect, but as others have mentioned, open to personalization. Husband loved it, says it's company fair for sure, maybe with a Waldorf type salad on the side. We loved the beans in the dish, you don't need a potatoe side dish at all. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Wow! Fell apart! I used butt, was out of bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This totally surpassed my expectations! It was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
We enjoyed this very much added brown rice for the last 40 minutes and added Tony Chachere's seasoning after it was all done and on the plate. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Very good indeed. Didn't change a thing and it came out tasty and tender. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Cooked this in a clay pot and used diced tomatoes and a porter ale from Ninkasi Brewing. Turned out tender and fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Given that everyone else rates this recipe so well, I'm willing to concede that maybe I misinterpreted it and did something wrong as I found I had some questions as I was going through it. I wondered if the beans should have been drained. I didn't drain them since it didn't specify to but I don't usually cook with quite so much starchy liquid. Was I supposed to uncover it at some point during the cooking? Was I supposed to stir it at any point? Since these were not specified, I didn't do them. What kind of beer (dark, med, lighter) works best? I used a med to light type. Was I supposed to trim the pork shoulder? The one I bought actually had skin on it so I did trim all that off. At the end, I just didn't like the look, texture or taste of this recipe, especially the "juice" which was surprising since I love all the ingredients. Specifically I found the onion/shallot combo to be overwhelming but yet otherwise bland. I was so hoping to like this as it sounded fantastic, but disappointed with my first attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Claire

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States