Easy Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Great recipe! I'll admit to having doubts about cooking my favorite roast with tomatoes poured over, but I needn't have worried. Served with steamed white rice and veggie for a family dinner -- everyone liked or loved it. I used Guinness (almost beer), since that's all I had, and skimmed as much fat off the gravy as I could about half way through the cooking -- my 7 lb roast was done in 4 hours at 275 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Delicious. Only changes were that I forgot the rosemary. I used other suggestion of rubbing roast with salt and pepper but also used some Pork Magic before browning the roast. I served it with the Irish Colcannon (great), corn bread, and the Superfast Asparagus (also great recipe). My guests came back for seconds so fast that I was amazed. I did take the roast out of the liquid to make it easy to serve. I then put a couple of cups of the liquid including some of the roast vegetables in a pan and thickened it with corn starch to make a gravy for the meat or potatoes but it really wasn't needed. Will use another auggestion and make soup out of the rest of the liquid. Definitely worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
No major complaints. Easy, good. We added potatoes and a can of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is the perfect 'throw-everything-in-the-pot-and-do-nothing' recipe! I have made this pork roast about a dozen times now. I don't always follow the recipe exactly, but it always comes out perfect! I have used dark beer or light beer, shallots or no shallots, cannelini beans or navy beans, dry beans or canned beans, roasted in the oven or slow cooked in a crock pot! It is always amazing! You just can't mess this one up. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!!!! Oh and today I'm trying it with a boneless Boston butt roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I forgot the beer on the counter right next to the stove so I missed out on that layer of flavor, but it was still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
i had a 2 lb preseasoned (onion and garlic)pork roast and was looking for a new recipe and this looked easy and had great reviews. i did not have everything so i added 2 cans rinsed and drained of northern beans and 1 can of diced tomatoes with onion celery and bell peppers and a little water to the roast then covered with foil 2 hrs @ 350 and then 1 hr @250 it was really full of flavor and everyone liked it.the meat was tender and not dry and the beans and tomatoes tasted great! served with mashed potatoes and corn. it would be great with rice or pasta.an easy dish with pantry items most people keep on hand thats my kind of recipe.thank you for sharing it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Great recipe. I had a dinner party and this was a hit. The meat was tender and juicy!!! I didn't drain the tomatoes or the beans. Loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Delicious, Delicious, Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daviskr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Made this for the family last night, following the recipe exactly. The reviews were so good that I decided to give it a try for something different. Unfortunatley, nobody liked it, including myself. We ate it, but with no rave reviews and I had to let them know not every new recipe works out for us. Maybe I shouldn't have added the liquid from the 2 cans of beans, but since the recipe didn't say to drain, as it did for the stewed tomatoes, I figured that meant to add the liquid. Maybe that's what went wrong, I don't know, but I don't think it would taste much different with or without the liquid. The next day I made BBQ pork sandwiches out of the leftovers and everyone enjoyed those, but was dissapointed in the original recipe. I love making new things for my family so we don't got bored of the regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States