Easy Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
id go with a pork tenderloin. when i made this, it was a good flavor, but the meat was pulling apart enough as to make the bits of pork blend well with the other stuff. the pork roast kinda binds up. its not bad, but i think a higher quality meat is much better. also, throw in there two keilbasa pieces to give a little fatty content and its yumx2. i like the mustard, dill, onion and apple combo. its a good recipe, but needs a lot of tinkering to get it right..so that its awesome on 'taters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I tried this for the first time and thought the pork turned out very dry. I make very sour kraut and pork and do a very good job! I shown this recipe to my wife and she said let's try it for the New year. The sour kraut and it's flavor was very good, but the pork roast was very dry and we picked it out of our sour kraut. I followed the recipe to the T. We had our roast cut from the butcher and we checked it off and on for tenderness. I'll go back my own way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
AS CLOSE TO MY ORIGINAL AS POSSIBLE. USE CIDER AND VINEGAR NOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I made this today, but used dried dill. It was flavorful and delicious. My piece of apple disintegrated into the sauerkraut when I stirred it, and it tasted great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I never really liked pork and sauerkraut when I was growing up, but this recipe is very tasty. I made a double batch in my crock pot for a church fellowship meal. Everybody really enjoyed it. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4mychubbyhubby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
We used pork chops, and browned them first. We also added sliced onions, a little bit of brown sugar, horseradish mustard and fresh garlic. It was very good, but could use a little more flavor and spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Great!! like an old-fashion farm meal. We took some of the juice and made dumplings. It was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This is a really nice basic crockpot recipe! Instead of a roast, I used two extra thick pork chops, added some onion soup powder (I didn't have onion salt), extra garlic and omitted the apple (I like the sauerkraut zing!)..Will make again but may add more liquid as I LOVED the juices! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
this was amazing. everyone loved it. it went really well with the mash potatos. i used an apple in the recipe as suggested. i had doubled on most of the ingredients to make extra. it was a tradition in my family to make this for new years. i think this was the best it has ever tasted. the apple and the beer make a huge difference in the taste. im not sure if my mom did that. i was worried that i had used too much beer, (i used 2 full beers) but it cooked all day long and by the time it was finished it was perfect. everyone loved it, we ate many left-overs and it tatested great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Easy and Elegant Pork Tenderloin

This roast is simple to prepare, and impressive enough for the fanciest occasions

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States