Easy Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
You have to brown all sides of the pork roast in a separate pan before you place in the sauerkraut or it will fall apart cooking with the sauerkraut. Also if you add hot dogs you MUST wait till the temp of the pork reaches 180 degrees or you will cross contaminate the hot dogs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I found that the sauerkraut tasted a bit too "apple-y" for me (I like my kraut with a bit of tang). It could be due to the beer/cider that I'd used (Angry Orchard original), so I may attempt this with a different type of beer. The pork chops were great, however; nice and tender. I would probably recommend a light beer as opposed to a dark ale-type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I also added caraway seed like some recipes suggested. I completed the recipe pretty much as written otherwise (fresh onion for onion salt was one other substitution). I also browned the meat before throwing it all up in the crockpot, which helped both flavor and texture. I would smush this into my mouth again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Very good. Used a dark lager which added to the seasoning. My family really liked this,even my youngest who is not fond of sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I made it with no beer and it didn't lack for liquid. I dusted the pork cubes with AP flour and browned in olive oil. I used two whole skin on chopped granny smith apples and two sweet onions, which I sauteed in the same olive oil along with the garlic and dill weed. I added table salt in place of onion salt. and a bout 1/4 of brown sugar. We will have this again, and I will change it to fit what is in the house. Very versitile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brianne
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
First off, I doubled this recipe and instead of using an apple, I used 2 cups of homemade apple butter and added Kielbasa. It was a hit for the New Year and was full of flavor! My family loved it and it was so easy to make! Will make again next New Year's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Colliers, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Wintersville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very smooth flavor. I don't like my sauerkraut too sweet or too sour. We also like to add bisquick dumplings on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Everyone else liked this better than I did, the sauerkraut was very mild. I, on the other hand, like my sauerkraut with more of a bite. Hence the four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I made this last night for dinner, I did not have any beer so I used a 2/3 of water, to try and avoid the dish from burning and the meat drying out. I did not have any minced garlic so I used 1 tbsp of garlic powder. Sadly the meat turned out very DRY. I will give this recipe another chance using the beer next time and fresh garlic, however I will scale down the "low" temp cooking to 4 hours to try and avoid the meat from drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I made this for my husband's birthday. This is a HUGE hit!!! Exchanged the pork roast for bratwurst sausages, that I cut up into 1 inch chunks. Also, couldn't find dry mustard, used a few squirts of regular mustard. This came out delicious, and everyone kept going back for more. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Easy and Elegant Pork Tenderloin

This roast is simple to prepare, and impressive enough for the fanciest occasions

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States