Easy Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
Very plain, home cooking style meal. Easy to make, very fast with pressure cooker, and my European friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
I added caraway seed and I browned the pork before adding to crock pot. The house smelled great when we got home. Excellent winter meal. I served it with mashed garlic potatoes and applesauce as suggested, but also served peas and carrots on the side for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
I was disappointed with the results. I found that doing away with the beer and adding a touch of brown sugar improved the flavor. I won't be using this receipe again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Sorry Grams, but this is dull. Too briney, not enough interest, the pork was flavorless. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
I love sauerkraut. I found this one intruiging. I used a bottle of Guiness in this recipe. I didn't really care for the taste at all. Won't be making it again. Didn't really understand the point of the apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
I loved the addition of all of the spices in this dish, comparred to other simular recipes from the site. I used a bottle of Sam Adams Cranberry Lambic, and that made for a wonderful tasting roast. If your roast came out dry, my suggestion would be to use the entire 12 oz. of beer, otherwise there will not be enough liquid, hence the dry roast. Good recipe Bianca, served with mashed potatoes & applesauce as suggested = yum. Thanks! (Hi Manda, the point of the apple is to take the tart out of the sauerkraut. Happy Cooking, better luck next time ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
This was my first experience with sauerkraut. My hub requested it because his mom always used to make it. It is strong flavored but I really like it. Follow the guidelines and have it with mashed potatoes and applesauce to kind of ease the strong flavor. I follow the recipe exactly except skip the beer and it is really very delicious. My hub says it is better than his moms :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
This was a good recipe. I did not have the time to cook it in the crock pot so I cooked it on the stove for an hour. I will make this again, maybe with the caraway seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I think the secret of this recipe is to start with a good tasting sauerkraut. I made the recipe exactly as written with the exception of adding a few caraway seeds. I also used sliced kielbasa instead of the pork. My wife even commented on how great this turned out. Five stars for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I made this for New Years Day to take into work for dinner for my co-workers. I had never made a pork in the crock pot and it turned out great! All the guys at work raved about it, and suprisingly, they could even taste the apple. I did modify this recipe slightly, using a 4 lb pork roast/loin (cut into about 6 slices) and used 1 1/2 apples. The apple did reduce the "zing" from the sauerkraut. I like the "zing", so maybe next time I would probably only use the 1/2 apple that it called for. Otherwise, it cooked up great-meat was tender, and I served it like everyone else seems to, with mashed potatoes and applesauce. Oh, also, I used the sauerkraut that somes refridgerated in a bag, found it back in the meat dept.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Easy and Elegant Pork Tenderloin

This roast is simple to prepare, and impressive enough for the fanciest occasions

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States