Easy Polenta with Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Fantastic! Ibaked it in tartlet molds and popped them out of the molds after baking so it had nice fluted edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
GREAT polenta! I used the sauce recipe from "Swordfish a la Siciliana" from this site to put over panfried sturgeon as well as the polenta. It's always an interesting evening meal when DH visits our favorite fishmonger! I skipped the baking step of this recipe and just served the polenta soft. This is a very easy recipe in that it thickens up nicely and has great flavor without an hour's worth of stirring! mmmmm.... comfort food! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Enjoyed this recipe very much, even though I forgot to stir the parmesan into the polenta! I sprinkled it on the top instead. Oh well. I used a vegie parmesan topping and skim milk. Very yummy and a delightful change-of-pace entree. Thanks so much for sharing it Jacquita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I'd give this 20 stars if I could! My parents are from Italy and polenta was a staple when we were growing up. Adding chicken broth instead of the traditional water gives it a WONDERFUL flavor. I've also made it using cream instead of milk (yum!), and I've just sprinkled a little cheese on top instead of mixing a whole cup of it in. It's also good with sauteed mushrooms on top. A very good basic recipe - thanks Jaquita!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Wow! This was very good and very easy to make. My entire family loved it. I used skim milk and low-sodium chicken broth. I poured some of the hot polenta onto a plate to eat right away and baked the rest. It was great the next day too, heated in the microwave. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This is a delicious, easy side or main dish! The broth and milk make it extra creamy without making it too rich. Tastes just like Grandma Mauro's polenta! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Tasted Great!! I added pepperoni to the Sauce to make it more of a lunch type meal. Also baked it about 20 minutes, took awhile to get the sauce bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Use high-quality aged parm, not just the stuff in a plastic container - it makes all the different. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Very tasty! I added some veggies into the mix to make it a complete meal. Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ranessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Made this tonight & my husband who is usually a very picky eater loved it! I added a pound of cooked ground beef and 1 diced cooked onion with a dash of garlic to the jarred spaghetti sauce to spice it up. The polenta was rich, creamy and tasty! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skeetprincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States