Easy Polenta with Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Fantastic! Ibaked it in tartlet molds and popped them out of the molds after baking so it had nice fluted edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Enjoyed this recipe very much, even though I forgot to stir the parmesan into the polenta! I sprinkled it on the top instead. Oh well. I used a vegie parmesan topping and skim milk. Very yummy and a delightful change-of-pace entree. Thanks so much for sharing it Jacquita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I'd give this 20 stars if I could! My parents are from Italy and polenta was a staple when we were growing up. Adding chicken broth instead of the traditional water gives it a WONDERFUL flavor. I've also made it using cream instead of milk (yum!), and I've just sprinkled a little cheese on top instead of mixing a whole cup of it in. It's also good with sauteed mushrooms on top. A very good basic recipe - thanks Jaquita!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Wow! This was very good and very easy to make. My entire family loved it. I used skim milk and low-sodium chicken broth. I poured some of the hot polenta onto a plate to eat right away and baked the rest. It was great the next day too, heated in the microwave. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This is a delicious, easy side or main dish! The broth and milk make it extra creamy without making it too rich. Tastes just like Grandma Mauro's polenta! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Tasted Great!! I added pepperoni to the Sauce to make it more of a lunch type meal. Also baked it about 20 minutes, took awhile to get the sauce bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
GREAT polenta! I used the sauce recipe from "Swordfish a la Siciliana" from this site to put over panfried sturgeon as well as the polenta. It's always an interesting evening meal when DH visits our favorite fishmonger! I skipped the baking step of this recipe and just served the polenta soft. This is a very easy recipe in that it thickens up nicely and has great flavor without an hour's worth of stirring! mmmmm.... comfort food! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Use high-quality aged parm, not just the stuff in a plastic container - it makes all the different. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Very tasty! I added some veggies into the mix to make it a complete meal. Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ranessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Made this tonight & my husband who is usually a very picky eater loved it! I added a pound of cooked ground beef and 1 diced cooked onion with a dash of garlic to the jarred spaghetti sauce to spice it up. The polenta was rich, creamy and tasty! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skeetprincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States