Easy Polenta with Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I'd give this 20 stars if I could! My parents are from Italy and polenta was a staple when we were growing up. Adding chicken broth instead of the traditional water gives it a WONDERFUL flavor. I've also made it using cream instead of milk (yum!), and I've just sprinkled a little cheese on top instead of mixing a whole cup of it in. It's also good with sauteed mushrooms on top. A very good basic recipe - thanks Jaquita!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Wow! This was very good and very easy to make. My entire family loved it. I used skim milk and low-sodium chicken broth. I poured some of the hot polenta onto a plate to eat right away and baked the rest. It was great the next day too, heated in the microwave. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This is a delicious, easy side or main dish! The broth and milk make it extra creamy without making it too rich. Tastes just like Grandma Mauro's polenta! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Tasted Great!! I added pepperoni to the Sauce to make it more of a lunch type meal. Also baked it about 20 minutes, took awhile to get the sauce bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
GREAT polenta! I used the sauce recipe from "Swordfish a la Siciliana" from this site to put over panfried sturgeon as well as the polenta. It's always an interesting evening meal when DH visits our favorite fishmonger! I skipped the baking step of this recipe and just served the polenta soft. This is a very easy recipe in that it thickens up nicely and has great flavor without an hour's worth of stirring! mmmmm.... comfort food! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Fantastic! Ibaked it in tartlet molds and popped them out of the molds after baking so it had nice fluted edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
So simple to make. I add a couple handfuls of grated cheddar cheese for an aded kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Well this got mixed reviews at my house but keep in mind none of us had ever tried polenta before. My daughter and I ate the leftovers the following day which in our opinion were better than the night before, definitely more firm. I'm sure we'll be making this again when we want something a little different from the ordinary as a side dish. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Loved this! Used heavy cream instead of milk and jazzed up the spaghetti sauce with some fresh garlic and chopped fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
The polenta was good, but I think the topping could be more creative to spice up the dish. Thanks for a good start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWLEVINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States