Easy Polenta with Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is great. I needed a plain polenta to use with another recipe, so I omitted the spaghetti sauce. The flavor is wonderful, this will be my standard polenta from now on! I'll plan on making it a day ahead and refrigerating so I can cut firm slices in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great. We had never tried poltenta and my son was skeptical, but we all ended up liking it. I served it with the Italian spaghetti sauce with meatballs (submitted by Jeremy) and it was the perfect side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHYADKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I really liked this, but it's getting 4 stars because my husband tried it, then made the "yuck" face, and choked down one bite... then didn't eat any more. I might make it again if I am cooking for other people besides just us, but this will not be a regular dish in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This is an excellent basic polenta recipe. Polenta has a history aa a staple in the Northern Italian diet - especially in the Asiago area - the home of my maternal grandparents. The terms "polentone" - meaning "full of polenta" and "mangiapolenta" meaning "eat polenta" are used by Southern Italians in reference to those of Northern Italy. The following recipe modifications will bring polenta to an even more elevated level: Bring 4 cups of milk with 0.5 cup of whipping cream to a boil without scalding. Reduce the mixture to a simmer. Slowly add 1 cup of Quaker cornmeal. With a wooden spoon, stir the mixture.In the old days, the stirring was alloted to the man of the house - the thickening cornmeal can become quite resistant to stirring. Lumps will have a tendency to form. I have found that an electric hand blender will obviate these problems and will result in a smooth, lumpless (homogeneous), creamy polenta. I continue the process for 30 to 45 minutes. I then add 4 TBS of butter to the hot polenta and continue with the blender for another 5 minutes. I then add 0.5 cup of grated pecorino romano cheese. I continue with the blender for another 5 minutes. The finished polenta is then poured onto a large buttered platter. After the polenta has hardened, it is cut - like a pie - into sections and served with a variety of toppings. Left-over polenta can be served for breakfast: powder the slices with flour, fry in butter, and serve with maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I just love baked polenta and this was a great basic recipe. Made it exactly as written and it turned out perfectly. Thank you, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Delicious, and very easy to make. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken, as I am vegetarian, and it turned out fantastic. I halved the recipe and put it in a loaf pan, as I am the only polenta lover in our family, and this was great, as the leftover can be reheated in the microwave for a quick meal. Thanks very much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This was a great recipe! I realized last minute I was out of sauce so I put fresh basal under some Procuitto and topped with provalone cheese before I placed it in the oven. WOW, Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
YUMMY! We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I didnt exactly use this recipe, so it is not fair for me to rate it anything other than a 5. I made polenta from a different recipe, then i found this one, so i added the tomato sauce on top and baked the polenta. The only problem i had was that i think another type of cheese would have made it more savory. (maybe half parmesan, half cheddar or another cheese). If i make this again, i will try it with other cheeses. That aside, the simple addition of tomato sauce is a great idea! gave alot of flavor to the polenta. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le12ahw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Easy recipe. I think I learned that I'm not really too keen on polenta though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma0517

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States