Easy Polenta with Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Very easy and excellent recipe. Followed direction exactly, but may not have cooked it enough. I'll need to experiment but my oven needed another 5 to completely firm the polenta. Really enjoyed it and can see this becoming a staple in our house. My only addition was a little black pepper to the polenta itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I am making this recipe tonight for the second time. I made no changes...used freshly grated Parmesan, 2% milk, and lite Ragu tomato/basil sauce. When it came out of the oven, it was almost the consistency of grits...a tad thicker. The flavor was so good, and the texture creamy. It firmed as it cooled, and I ate it for leftovers right from the frig and it was wonderful. I used local organic, stone ground, yellow corn meal. This is going to be a staple from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChattTraveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
First time I've made or eaten polenta! So easy...and yummy! Served it the first night topped with ossobuco & the leftover plain polenta was pan-fried & served with chicken breasts & tomato sauce a couple of nights later. Both times the family wolfed it down. Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
OMG! This is one of the most delicious things I have ever eaten,and definitely a easy quick meal to make. The total time was about an hour including making my sauce from scratch. The only change I made(due to being short on parm cheese) was add about a 1/4 of shredded mexican cheese, and about a tsp of garlic powder. Other than that, left everything the same. Thank you for sharing your amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This recipe is so delicious and extremely easy. I wouldn't change a thing. Polenta is a very budget friendly meal to make. I added grilled zucchini and red peppers to the top once it came out and it was great. Great recipe once again Jacquita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Great recipe - perfect for a work night as it doesn't take long to make - looking forward to the leftovers - will def. make again - Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I'VE MADE POLENTA THE OLD ITALIAN WAY, STIRRING FOREVER, BUT THIS WAS WONDERFUL, AND MUCH BETTER TASTING WITH THE CHICKEN STOCK (I USED THE NEW SWANSONS STOCK , NOT BROTH, AND MILK. YOU DO NEED TO STIR THE FULL TIME SO IT ISN'T RUNNY. AND I ADDED SHREDDED MOZZARELLA ON TOP, BEFORE THE SAUCE. EASY PEASY AND MY ITALIAN HUBBY LOVED IT. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
very easy, made it without the sauce and served it with "Osso Bucco" from this site...they pair together very well!! thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
So easy! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I LOVE this stuff! I was out of milk so I used a can of evaporated milk and added water to make 2 cups. I will probably use a little less cheese next time just to cut the fat a little. I had to come write this just to stop myself from eating it. My 5 1/2 year old son likes it enough that he will be having it in a thermous for lunch at school tomorrow. I love leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States