Easy Polenta with Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Loved the taste and how quick and easy this was. The polenta had a cream of wheat-type texture when I poured it into the pan. It was a little runny when I first took it out of the oven but if you let it sit several minutes before cutting, it thickens up. P.S. Muir Glen's Fire Roasted Tomato pasta sauce is our family's favorite. I highly recommend it if you don't have time to make your own. Actually, it's better than my own. UPDATE: The second time I made this I decreased the milk and stock by 1/2 cup each. This turned out much better. The polenta was firm and could be cut into pieces (the longer it sits outside the oven, the firmer it gets). The parmesan flavor stood out a tad more too. I just can't get enough of this....YUM! The leftovers are just as good if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is amazingly flavorful, yet easy and quick. The chicken broth and milk definitely make the dish. I made my own sauce with a little italian sausage, and that went well with the flavor in the polenta. I was amazed at the liquid to cornmeal ratio, thinking it would come out runny. But I trusted the reicpe and the dish came out perfect. Thank you for such a wonderful main dish for the 'gluten-challenged'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
A truly outstanding base recipe. Used 1 cup half and half, 3 cups stock, and added a tablespoon of butter. Stirred in the cheese at the end. I didn't bake this--left off the sauce and just served with a spoon out of the pot once it was cooked. Great with caramelized onions and Italian sausage on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Great! We all loved it! Easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I don't know what went wring but the polenta didn't thicken at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
The base of this - the polenta - was great. I cut the cheese by almost half and it was still really cheesy and creamy, but you should really use a homemade sauce for the top. The canned stuff tastes like it came from a can on top of this. At the very least, stir canned sauce into some sauteed onion and add some herbs first. I added some grated parmesan to the top to make it look nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Very easy and good. I omited the sauce due to the other food that I was serving and this was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Delicious! Added 1 pat of butter, 3 cloves of garlic, and some pepper. Baked it without the sauce and served it with lamb chops. My husband and I both had second helpings. Wonderful texture, very easy to make, and a nice change from potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South New Berlin, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I made the polenta as directed, but I also bake Italian sausage. After the polenta was baked, I put my homemade sauce over it then sliced my meat and put atop. BEAUTIFUL!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
it was alright, but could have used some sausage or other meat on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States