Easy Polenta with Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Delicious! Soooooo easy!! I used 1.5 cups of each liquid, which gave a firmer texture. Served with chicken and sauted onions, but for me, I prefer minus the meat. Topped with Famiglia del Grosso sauce ... THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I made this polenta ahead of time and let it set up in the fridge. Then cut into single servings, topped with leftover sauce and baked in pretty little dishes. Really nice, rich and creamy polenta. My family had nerver had it before and they loved it. No need to try another recipe, I'll just doctor this basic one to fit any need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Julian, California, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
this was easy & delicious! I just sprinkled some cheese on top of the polenta before baking, then put it in the fridge to cool & set. Put chicken cacciatore on top, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
A good, simple polenta recipe. Rather idiot proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tarainga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
So EASY and so GOOD! I serve this (without tomato sauce) with Braised Beef Short Ribs or Braised Lambshanks. The gravy from the meat is perfect over the polenta and they go together so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This was my first time to make polenta, but I didn't think it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Super easy, and super good- even with canned spaghetti sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyscookin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I hate when people do this, but well... here's my super simple version. Premade Polenta from refridgerated section slice and bake 350 for 15min. In skillet: 1 can petite diced tomatoes with sweet onion and 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar, 1 TBSP of sugar, 1 tsp Kosher salt, reduce and spoon over polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superstepmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This is not true polenta, but only a tasty corn mush. True polenta is much more work to get right. True polenta is extended cooking until the corn starch becomes geletanized. Calling this polenta is a disservice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Loved the taste and how quick and easy this was. The polenta had a cream of wheat-type texture when I poured it into the pan. It was a little runny when I first took it out of the oven but if you let it sit several minutes before cutting, it thickens up. P.S. Muir Glen's Fire Roasted Tomato pasta sauce is our family's favorite. I highly recommend it if you don't have time to make your own. Actually, it's better than my own. UPDATE: The second time I made this I decreased the milk and stock by 1/2 cup each. This turned out much better. The polenta was firm and could be cut into pieces (the longer it sits outside the oven, the firmer it gets). The parmesan flavor stood out a tad more too. I just can't get enough of this....YUM! The leftovers are just as good if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States