Easy Polenta with Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this and it was fantastic!! It was my first time making polenta and I didn't know if I would like it very much. I followed the recipe exactly and used my own homemade sauce to top it off. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Very good and easy! Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Delicious! Very easy to make, and this was actually my first time making polenta. I probably could have cooked it longer on the stove top, but despite it being just a little "runny" it was delicious. I added two chopped green onions while cooking the corn meal on the stove and a little salt and pepper. Should have cut the recipe in half for the two of us, but we'll enjoy it again today. This is a repeat for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This may have been the easiest, hassle-free dinner I've thrown together. Not only that, but it delivered exactly what I was hoping for taste and texture-wise. Following the advice of another reviewer, I only used 3 cups of liquid total (1 1/2 c chicken broth and 1 1/2 c of a combo of heavy cream and 2% milk). Before the broth/milk mixture came to a rolling boil, I whisked in some spices to taste: black pepper, a little onion & garlic powders, a dash of nutmeg, and some dried basil. With the addition of the 1 c parmesan cheese, the polenta was already thick, and honestly, I could've dug in at that moment. However, I poured the polenta into an 8x8" square glass baking dish, topped with an eyeballed amount of a hearty basil marinara sauce, then sprinkled some extra parmesan cheese and the remainder of a bag of an Italian blend shredded cheese I wanted to to use up, as well as a final sprinkling of basil. Baked for 12 minutes, and let it sit out for 5 minutes after removing it from the oven....perfect firm, yet creamy texture and taste! Served with a simple green tossed salad, this will be a regular in our Meatless Monday rotation for sure! Even paired with some Italian sausage and peppers, this polenta would be an excellent side dish as well. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This was really good - I've never made polenta before and it was a nice change from pasta. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that mine came out really runny. Maybe I did something wrong. Otherwise, the taste more than made up for the messy presentation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntingtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Very tasty polenta. I didn't have yellow corn flour so I used white and it turned out well. I used vegetable broth so that all members of the family could enjoy it. I thought that the spaghetti sauce was too much and overpowering the amount of polenta. i might try to make a fresh tomato sauce for this next time. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I'm vegan so I made this with soy milk and vegetable stock but made the polenta and put it in a baking dish and cooled it and then cut the polenta into triangle slices and alined three slices and then poured the tomato sauce over and sprinkled soy cheese over the top made a delicious polenta dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Love this recipe! I make the polenta in ths stove, and then divide into 5 or 6 small plastic take along containers. I pour tomato sauce and sprinkle cheese on each one- then stick in the fridge. We take them to work and re-heat in the microwave. They keep well (freeze even) and the cheese melts and tomato sauce cooks in the microwave. Great time saver! A TBS or two of pesto stirred into the polenta is also delicious, and you can get by with less cheese for lower calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
We used 1.5 cups of milk and chicken stock, and let it sit for a few minutes after baking, and it was nice and thick. Also from previous reviews, added a clove of minced garlic to the spaghetti sauce, which added a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This is my first time having polenta - I am still trying to decide if I like this or not... the taste isn't bad, but I might have some issues with the texture. Update: This is definitely better the next day - the texture is better too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States