Easy Polenta with Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
it was good, we served this three times in our cafeteria at the high school, it was well received, we modified the recipe because we found that there were a lot of comments on the saltiness the first time around. but otherwise it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Keswick, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rthrbquilting
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I cut the recipe in half ( 1 c milk, 1c chicken broth etc) and it turned out great. I put it in a Pyrex pie dish and baked it without the sauce as I'm serving it in a different way. Couldn't have been easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Best polenta we've ever made. Keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
We are polenta lovers. This is a great way to prepare it. Perfect amount of Parmesan.. Enjoyed this very much. Thanks Jacquita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This is a great and tasty meal. Love how easy and quick it is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I had never made polenta before, but this was an easy and very tasty dish. I stirred some Italian seasoning and garlic powder into the polenta with the Parmesan, along with salt and pepper. It set up well and tasted good with a jarred sauce and a sprinkle of mozzarella cheese. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this and it was fantastic!! It was my first time making polenta and I didn't know if I would like it very much. I followed the recipe exactly and used my own homemade sauce to top it off. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Very good and easy! Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Delicious! Very easy to make, and this was actually my first time making polenta. I probably could have cooked it longer on the stove top, but despite it being just a little "runny" it was delicious. I added two chopped green onions while cooking the corn meal on the stove and a little salt and pepper. Should have cut the recipe in half for the two of us, but we'll enjoy it again today. This is a repeat for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This may have been the easiest, hassle-free dinner I've thrown together. Not only that, but it delivered exactly what I was hoping for taste and texture-wise. Following the advice of another reviewer, I only used 3 cups of liquid total (1 1/2 c chicken broth and 1 1/2 c of a combo of heavy cream and 2% milk). Before the broth/milk mixture came to a rolling boil, I whisked in some spices to taste: black pepper, a little onion & garlic powders, a dash of nutmeg, and some dried basil. With the addition of the 1 c parmesan cheese, the polenta was already thick, and honestly, I could've dug in at that moment. However, I poured the polenta into an 8x8" square glass baking dish, topped with an eyeballed amount of a hearty basil marinara sauce, then sprinkled some extra parmesan cheese and the remainder of a bag of an Italian blend shredded cheese I wanted to to use up, as well as a final sprinkling of basil. Baked for 12 minutes, and let it sit out for 5 minutes after removing it from the oven....perfect firm, yet creamy texture and taste! Served with a simple green tossed salad, this will be a regular in our Meatless Monday rotation for sure! Even paired with some Italian sausage and peppers, this polenta would be an excellent side dish as well. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States