Easy Platz (Coffee Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
This batter needs to be kept to a thickness of 1/2 inch in the pan prior to adding the fruit of choice and crumbs on top. You will have difficulty with it baking completely if the batter is any thicker. I use an oblong cookie sheet with an edge or jelly roll pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maple bear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Very good, easy cake. I made with a few minor changes. After reading reviews, I used a 9 x 13 pan, which baked perfectly in 35 minutes. To the batter I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. I reserved 1 cup of crumbs, to which I added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 2 tablespoons brown sugar. I used approximately 2 cups of fresh blackberries. Everyone loved it and a great cake to use up the never-ending blackberry supply!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
We loved this. Based on other reviews, I used a 9x13 pan and then the cooking time was right on. Only slight problem with that is that I think it needs more blackberries when you use a larger pan. Mine were too spread out. Oh well, it was still delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This is a very good coffee cake. I used a 9 x 13 inch pan and baked it about 45 minutes. I like the fact that the ingredients are simple and usually on hand. I'll be making this again and experimenting with using different fruits and jams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTEE40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
This cake was quite good. I used a 9 inch round cake pan, and used apricot jam on top instead of the fruit called for. It took much longer for the cake to cook (at least 50 min in total) which may have been because of my substitution of the round pan. Unfortunately, because it took so much longer to cook, my company had to leave before the cake was even out of the oven! I will try this again though, with a square pan. It is really wonderful with the apricots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
EVEN though I made so changes ..MY family has never eaten a whole cake at my house...Here is a the changes that I made... Because I didnt have regular flour and baking pwder,I thought to myslef hmmmmmm I wonder how will self rising flour turn(since it already has a baking powder mix in it)SO instead of the flour and baking pwder I just used the 2 cup selfrising flour...And of course no more salt since its already salted!!!!!!..SO no fruits for my cake.WHAT I did instead is sprinkle alot of nesltequick strawberry pwder on top of the cake for decoration and a delicious sugary taste mmmmmmmmmmmm!!!!!!!!!!PLease try it and goodluck!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartocute

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This is the best cake ever! Its my first time baking a cake...And this is so easy! I used self raising flour like one of the reviewer said...And its really delicious! If you want plain sponge cake...Just omit the fruits and crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
My husband really enjoyed this coffee cake. I increased the berries to 2 cups and used a combination of blackberries and blueberries. I baked it in an 8x11.5 glass pan and cooked it for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Very good recipe and easy to make. I used a 13x9 pan like another reviewer suggested. I served the cake warm with peach ice cream and it was wonderful. I used fresh from the grower blackberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Moultrie, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Excellent! This is a five star recipe! I made it for a brunch, and it worked great. You could add more berries if you wanted though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States