Easy Platz (Coffee Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Very good recipe and easy to make. I used a 13x9 pan like another reviewer suggested. I served the cake warm with peach ice cream and it was wonderful. I used fresh from the grower blackberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Moultrie, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristi
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
The cooking time is way off, as others have stated, but other then that, it's a good recipe. I use 1 cup rice flour and one cup of whole wheat flour and 2 cups of mixed frozen berries. I put 1 cup of berries into the batter and the other on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This is such a wonderful recipe. It's moist, it's adaptable to any fruit topping. I use crushed pineapples, blueberries, raspberries, anything goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Really easy and delicious coffee cake! Following the advice of previous reviewers, I used a 9x9 inch glass baking dish and starting testing for doneness at 45 minutes (my oven is fluky so baking is an adventure). I've used this recipe with blackberries and blueberries with excellent results each time. As is my habit, I also substituted one cup of Splenda for the sugar, a cup of whole wheat flour for one of the cups of all-purpose flour, 1/2 cup eggBeaters for the eggs, and one stick of light butter for the margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mitra
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
one of the best cakes i ve ever baked...when i tasted the batter pre-cooked i thought it tasted a bit too floury...but it was fantastic when it was cooked...very moist...yummy...yet light and super easy to bake. i only make half the recipe so mine cooked on time and was great :) try to bake half the amount if youre having trouble with the time...cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This is the best cake ever! Its my first time baking a cake...And this is so easy! I used self raising flour like one of the reviewer said...And its really delicious! If you want plain sponge cake...Just omit the fruits and crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Excellent taste, easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
My husband really enjoyed this coffee cake. I increased the berries to 2 cups and used a combination of blackberries and blueberries. I baked it in an 8x11.5 glass pan and cooked it for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
We used sucanat for sugar, and whole wheat fresh ground pastry flour. It was great. My whole family loved it for breakfest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
We loved this. Based on other reviews, I used a 9x13 pan and then the cooking time was right on. Only slight problem with that is that I think it needs more blackberries when you use a larger pan. Mine were too spread out. Oh well, it was still delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States