Easy Platz (Coffee Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Perfect! Absolutely Perfect! Hubby and I demolished 1/4 of the cake as soon as it came out of the oven! A KEEPER! I did use a 9x13 pan as recommended by others and doubled the amount of blackberries only because I love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Except for the addition of vanilla and almond extracts, I followed the recipe exactly. It was fabulous. My husband and I virtually demolished the coffee cake when taking turns getting out of bed overnight and snacking. I really love blackberries and the simplicity of this recipe just rocks. Oh, one more small change: I dusted the pan with cinnamon/sugar instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
FANTASTIC recipe--rave reviews from my friends and coworkers. The only change I made was to triple (the first time I made it) and double (the 2nd time i made it) the amount of berries. Otherwise, this is the best fruit coffeecake recipe I've ever tasted. Oh, and agree w/ other reviewers, espcially if you increase the amount of fruit, you will definitel need to increase the cooking time--with the 3 cups of berries I ended up baking for almost an hour, setting the timer after the initial 30 minutes or so, in 10 minute increments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Okanogan, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I added about 1 tablespoon of nutmeg, which took it to an awesome new level. We have blackberries growing in our backyard and this is one of my favorite recipes to make them into so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I'm not sure what more I can add to the reviews, but this was wonderful. I baked it in a 9 x 13 pan, placed 2 cups of frozen blackberries in the bottom of the pan and spooned the batter evenly over the top. I sprinkled just a smidgen of cinnamon-sugar mixture over the top before baking, too. My husband's office sent the empty pan back, asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I was looking for recipe to make to use up some raspberries I had in the fridge, and I'm glad I came across this one! Yum! My raspberries were huge, so I cut them in half and tossed them in sugar before adding to the top of the batter. I also did as other reviewers suggested and used a 9x13 pan and baked for 45 minutes - came out perfect! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KatieRando
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I love this recipe because all ingredients were on hand at home, and I didn't have to go to the store for anything. I took the advise of others and used a 9X13 dish so it was no thicker than 1/2 an inch thick, but it still needed to cook almost an hour. Be prepared for that. (I had a very anxious birthday girl waiting for her breakfast cake!!) :) Also, the blackberries we had weren't very good... not too sweet, so if that happens again, I think I'll just sprinkle some sugar on them before putting them on the cake - that should help. But the cake was a hit - we'll make it again for sure. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieRando

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is a really good simple cake. I've made it with blueberries, strawberries, and even with chocolate chips. I want to try it with peaches and apples, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRALH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Great at any temperature but especially delicious warm, sprinkled with powdered sugar. I used 1 C wheat flour and 1 C all-purpose flour, producing a nutty flavor. I used 2 C frozen blackberries we'd picked earlier this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenenski Family
Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This was ok. It was very easy, but I probably won't make it again. I used a 9x13 based on the suggestions, but it was just too much cake and not enough fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States