Easy Platz (Coffee Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Delicious and easy recipe! Just use a 9x13 pan (like the other reviewers said) and use only fresh fruit. I have made this with fresh blackberries, fresh blueberries, and fresh raspberries with excellent results. Once I tried it with a variety of frozen berries that I had in the freezer and the cake was good at first, but after storing for one night it was very soggy and we had to throw the leftovers away.:( This is always a hit with fresh berries! Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Francis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Very good, easy cake. I made with a few minor changes. After reading reviews, I used a 9 x 13 pan, which baked perfectly in 35 minutes. To the batter I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. I reserved 1 cup of crumbs, to which I added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 2 tablespoons brown sugar. I used approximately 2 cups of fresh blackberries. Everyone loved it and a great cake to use up the never-ending blackberry supply!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
So yummy, and so easy because all the ingredients are readily on-hand. I followed the tip of baking in a larger pan. Had to bake it about 40-45 minutes though till it was completely set in ther center. Served it warm with vanilla ice cream. Perfect summer dessert to use up those berries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
FANTASTIC!!! I needed to do something with all the wild blackberries growing in my back yard, and this was sublime use of this fruit, or any ohter fruit, I imagine. Easy and delicious, one of the best cakes I have ever made. Would be great for brunch, or dessert with whpped cream. SOOOO easy! I will defintely make it again, often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I was looking for something simple as a dessert and found this. While I didn't have any berries I added cinnamon, vanilla, and apples to the base and some cinnamon to the crumb topping. We love it, I will definitely try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I used 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Butter. Vegan egg replacer. Baked it in a 9 x 13 for 40 minutes. Excellent. Will be trying it with a variety of fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Perfect! Absolutely Perfect! Hubby and I demolished 1/4 of the cake as soon as it came out of the oven! A KEEPER! I did use a 9x13 pan as recommended by others and doubled the amount of blackberries only because I love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Except for the addition of vanilla and almond extracts, I followed the recipe exactly. It was fabulous. My husband and I virtually demolished the coffee cake when taking turns getting out of bed overnight and snacking. I really love blackberries and the simplicity of this recipe just rocks. Oh, one more small change: I dusted the pan with cinnamon/sugar instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
FANTASTIC recipe--rave reviews from my friends and coworkers. The only change I made was to triple (the first time I made it) and double (the 2nd time i made it) the amount of berries. Otherwise, this is the best fruit coffeecake recipe I've ever tasted. Oh, and agree w/ other reviewers, espcially if you increase the amount of fruit, you will definitel need to increase the cooking time--with the 3 cups of berries I ended up baking for almost an hour, setting the timer after the initial 30 minutes or so, in 10 minute increments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Okanogan, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I added about 1 tablespoon of nutmeg, which took it to an awesome new level. We have blackberries growing in our backyard and this is one of my favorite recipes to make them into so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States