Easy Platz (Coffee Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I was in the mood for coffee cake but all the recipes called for vanilla and I am out :( I'm glad I didn't give up searching because I wouldn't have found this recipe :) Blackberries are my most favorite berry, but I didn't have those either. What I had was fresh cranberries, about 1 1/2 cups. I decided to simmer them in water for a few minutes so they would be tender like the blackberry. I strained them and set them aside to cool. I substituted sugar with Fructevia and followed the remainder of the recipe as written. My pan size was 8 x 11. It came out very nice, not too sweet. When there was about 5 minutes left of bake time, I realized I had not sprinkled the top with the flour mixture that had been set aside. I contemplated finishing without it, but said ''what the heck'' and quickly sprinkled. In that short time the edges browned, but the rest did not. The taste did not suffer, but I'm sure the topping would be that much better, with a toastiness (sp?) to it. I am looking forward to making this with the blackberries & intended topping in the near future. That's when I will add a photo :o) Thanks for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catcassetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I used Maslanka/buttermilk instead of the milk and baked it in a 9x13 pan. Tasted amazing! Next time I'll try adding some orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
good and easy. After reading some of the reviews. Only thing I did different was I just halved the recipe and baked it in a 9 in pie pan. 27 mins was perfect. I think this recipe would work well for any type of berry. I think next time I might try using buttermilk instead, or add a touch of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This cake was great...I have to agree with many of the other reviewers about the thickness of the batter. I did it in a 9in round tin and my batter was pretty thick probably because I put in so many blackberries. It just took WAY longer to cook....so plan on 45 min to an hour...or else pick a pan that will make the batter much thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I added 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1 tsp of vanilla extract and substituted the blackberries for blueberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
It tasted great, but I should have read the reviews first! It definitely needs a 9 x 13 pan. Will try it another time and use a larger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
The recipe was great! I used everything that they used but, It took WAY longer than I was expecting. It took almost an hour or so for mine to cook all the way. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This coffee cake is very good. It baked up not too sweet, had a very nice crust on the bottom and a slightly salty and sweet crumb on top. I only made half the recipe because I don't like wasting ingredients on a not-so-good recipe. I put the cake in a round glass baking pan and it baked perfectly for 30 minutes. I also used real salted butter instead of margarine and doubled the recommended amount of berries since I love berries. Hubs loved this one and will be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I love this cake, I read the reviews and added two things from a couple reviewers. I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla to my batter and I added about a 1 teaspoon of cinnamon to the crumb topping. Easy to make, and my whole family loved it! In fact I have one in the oven right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuZySHooZ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Love that is was super fast to make and simple ingredients that are always available. Everyone that tried it loved it; however I added less sugar than it indicated and I thought it to be still too sweet. I will make it again but with way less sugar and tart apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States