Easy Platz (Coffee Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
MMMmmm good. I'll be making this one again sometime soon. I had no blackberries so I used a combination of red and black currents, one cup of which just happened to be ripe enough to pick this morning. I also finely chopped an apple for a bit more fruitiness and to help relieve the tartness of the currants. I baked the cake in a pan 8 x 9.75". The cake rose beautifully, looked really lovely with glimpses of the black and red currants through the topping. It took an hour to bake. Certainly the recipe submitter is at odds with her own review. While I might use a slightly larger baking dish next time, I cannot imagine baking this in a cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Love it! Did add cinnamon and vanilla! And made 2 8 x8 pans. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hampstead, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daisy Rollinson
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This recipe was so easy and very tasty! I made it with my 2 yr old. I floured a Bundt pan, and just added about 10 min to the cooking time (until a knife comes out clean) I liked the shortcut process of making the crumb in a large mixture and removing part, instead of making it twice! I used frozen blueberries and rolled them around in the dry mix before adding the liquid. I also added lemon and vanilla extract. It's delightful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Rollinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sonia
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
It was easy to make , delicious I would make it with any type of berries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This cake is certainly easy to make, however it's boring as is. It needs vanilla and spices of some sort ....cinnamon, nutmeg, possible grated orange rind. I have made many coffee cakes but this is one I will never make again. I even put chopped berries through the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Awesome and easy to make!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StephHanson1
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Great basic recipe. I made it low sugar by substituting a stevia/sugar blend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made this "easy platz" for my family to rave reviews. Though it tasted great, I had a lot of ploblems getting the top of the confection to be golden brown. Also, the "crumble" on top disintegrated. Overall a great post berry picking treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Shirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jasmina
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
A delicious quick and easy cake to make.. I use a springform pan that has a hole in the center and it comes out perfect every time! I keep it in my cake stand overnight to soften up so it tastes even better the next day. I also mix in raspberries with the blackberries and everyone that has tried it loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
delightful. I used half whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States