Easy Platz (Coffee Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sonia
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
It was easy to make , delicious I would make it with any type of berries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I think if its called a coffee cake there should at least be coffee in the ingredients. No did not try it yet coffee is what got me interested maybe I will try it. Lucy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This cake is certainly easy to make, however it's boring as is. It needs vanilla and spices of some sort ....cinnamon, nutmeg, possible grated orange rind. I have made many coffee cakes but this is one I will never make again. I even put chopped berries through the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Awesome and easy to make!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StephHanson1
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Great basic recipe. I made it low sugar by substituting a stevia/sugar blend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made this "easy platz" for my family to rave reviews. Though it tasted great, I had a lot of ploblems getting the top of the confection to be golden brown. Also, the "crumble" on top disintegrated. Overall a great post berry picking treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Shirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jasmina
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
A delicious quick and easy cake to make.. I use a springform pan that has a hole in the center and it comes out perfect every time! I keep it in my cake stand overnight to soften up so it tastes even better the next day. I also mix in raspberries with the blackberries and everyone that has tried it loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
delightful. I used half whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I certainly hope you read the reviews BEFORE you put this in the oven in the specified 9 in. square pan!! That's where mine is now, and I am thinking we'll be having this for lunch, since, apparently, breakfast will be long over by the time this coffeecake is baked through! Isn't there a way to revise this recipe so that it's correctly written? So far, I would characterize this a baking mishap, regardless of how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I was in the mood for coffee cake but all the recipes called for vanilla and I am out :( I'm glad I didn't give up searching because I wouldn't have found this recipe :) Blackberries are my most favorite berry, but I didn't have those either. What I had was fresh cranberries, about 1 1/2 cups. I decided to simmer them in water for a few minutes so they would be tender like the blackberry. I strained them and set them aside to cool. I substituted sugar with Fructevia and followed the remainder of the recipe as written. My pan size was 8 x 11. It came out very nice, not too sweet. When there was about 5 minutes left of bake time, I realized I had not sprinkled the top with the flour mixture that had been set aside. I contemplated finishing without it, but said ''what the heck'' and quickly sprinkled. In that short time the edges browned, but the rest did not. The taste did not suffer, but I'm sure the topping would be that much better, with a toastiness (sp?) to it. I am looking forward to making this with the blackberries & intended topping in the near future. That's when I will add a photo :o) Thanks for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catcassetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States