Easy Pizza Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
This is a very good sauce. I have tried quite a few and this is my husband’s favorite. I cut the water amount in half because of others recommendations, I highly recommend this or the sauce will be very thin and watery. I also add a ½ teaspoon of sugar. We make this now once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
367 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
Thanks Frank for the recipe......to make it a quick sauce, cut the water down to a cup and the oil down to 1/4 cup......simmer for 15 minutes and add flour to bind the oil, water and tomato and spices......voila! a fast pizza sauce that's ready while your dough is rising!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
306 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
Excellent! I always use this recipe when I make my famous homemade pizza. I make the sauce and dough in the morning and let them both sit on the counter until dinner. Thus, the sauce has a marvelous flavor and the dough has had time to ferment. When making the sauce, I add less water and oil than the recipe calls for. This sauce has an incredible flavor! Thanks for a tremendous recipe. My family and friends rave about the pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
My whole family liked this sauce a lot. The only thing I did different was I put all the ingredients together and simmered it for about an hour and than I just let it sit for another hour before I made the pizza. It came out great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
Great Sauce! I used double the garlic for my garlic loving family. I did not have rosemary, so I used Italian Spices instead. I also only put 1 cup fo water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
This is the best pizza sauce! I only used 1 cup of water and it was great. I froze the rest. Also, I didn't have time to let it sit before using and it still tasted yummy! Try Jay's Signature Pizza crust on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Well. THIS IS WHAT YOU HAVE TO DO: Its a great recipe. I tasted it and said yuck..Then it sat in my frige for 4 days. And WOW!! The paste eventually thickens All. Anyhow, with the time it had all was Delicious. A big factor I think..I used it with Ravioli and was Delish..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Easy, yes but way too watery if you follow the recipe. I adjusted the water down to 2/3 cup and replaced the oil with 2 Tbsp. of wine. I added a little salt and 1 tsp. of sugar along with a 1/4 tsp. of onion powder and cut back on the oregano, basil and rosemary to taste using a little over 1/4 tsp. each. Overall, not bad but don't use all that water unless you want a very, very thin sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
Great sauce. A bit thin for my liking so I added a bit less water than it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Goes with Jay's Pizza Crust. We've found it tastes much better if we make it the night before and let the flavors blend in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States