Easy Pizza Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
LOVE this!!! Now that we've been eating more healthy, this hits the spot! I Let it sit overnight in fridge, stirred right before smoothing over a whole grain wrap, add veggies, low-fat mozzerela and baked at 350ish for 10 minutes.... My husband LOVES it too! Reminds me of the home made pizza sauce mom and dad made when we were growing up... "Pizza Night at Mar-Dan's!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liberty_bell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly. However, the sauce was so runny it was almost like water. I cooked it to reduce it and had to add another can of paste in order to make it thick enough so it didn't completely soak into the crust. I found another recipe that calls for a can of tomato paste like this one, but no water, just tomato sauce. I will use that one from now on. This recipe calls for WAY TOO MUCH WATER in proportion to the amount of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whidbey Island

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I give this 4 stars because the water and oil amounts were way too much and I had to start all over. As others mentioned, cut the water down to 1 cup and the oil to 1/4 cup. This was a good sauce in that you actually taste the toppings you put on instead of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Milton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I just whipped this up tonight when I realized that I didn't have any pizza sauce on hand or even so much as a jar of tomato sauce! I was about to order pizza online when I decided to check here for a recipe using just tomato paste, since I did have one can of that...and I found this recipe! I'm SO glad I did! Comes together in seconds and tastes fabulous! I subbed anchovy paste for the salt and added about a teaspoon (if that) of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
My husband is very particular about pizza sauce. I made this last night and he loved it!! Very simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Luverne, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Very good. I had left over onion & garlic sauce which I wanted to use up. DH is a pizza finatic and was insisted on making our own. I compromised and let him. We followed this as is but added 1tbs of sugar because we found it pretty acidic. Saving and making again and again!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Delicious! I cut back the water to one cup and I used the italian seasoned tomato paste. Tastes amazing! I recommend the "master pizza dough" recipe from this site to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
so easy and perfect. i did cut the water down to 3/4 cup since it seemed like it would be a little runny at 1 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is a terrific recipe! It makes my homemade pizza taste just like any of my favorite restaurant pizzas! Here is what I did a little different: Cut water down to 1 cup Cut olive oil down to 1/4 cup Added 1-2 T sugar Heated on the stove top at a low-med heat for about 30 - 40 minutes It is super important to cook and/or let this sit for a while before using it. It definitely tastes better once the spices have joined together. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
How easy can this be? Thanks for a tasty pizza sauce without breaking the bank!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States