Easy Pineapple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This couldn't be any easier! The only changes I made was to decrease the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and added about 1/2 cup chopped walnuts to the batter. No one was excited when I said I was going to make a pineapple cake but when they tasted it, it got rave reviews and everyone had seconds. I love that there is no fat in the mix, now I have to find a fat free frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This cake is super-yummy and DOESN'T need oil or butter! It has a great chewy & moist texture and there is plenty of fat in the frosting! I cut back on the sugar by 1/4 of a cup and they did not seem too sweet - just right. These are just like they say...very easy & fast to make -tasted a little like my carrot cake recipe. I sprinkled 1/2 cup chopped pecans on top of the frosting also. Thanks! UPDATE: Do keep this in the fridge if it is not eaten right away. It tastes yummy cold too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Oddly enough, it was another Catherine who gave me this recipe more than 30 years ago...she called it "Chop Suey Cake," she guessed because it's so speedy, she said. The recipe is not misprinted--there is no oil or fat in the cake, so do not feel compelled to add it. For those who insist a cake requires fat, think of angel food cakes! This is a delicious cake, very moist, full of pineapple flavor. "My" Catherine's recipe also included a cup of chopped nuts. Thanks, Catherine, for posting this bit of nostalgia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I loved this recipe. It was so quick and easy. I did follow the other reviews and added oil to make it more moist. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oakland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This cake is really good for having no oil or butter. I put whole wheat pastry flour, half the sugar and topped it with the almond filling custard recipe on this site and some toasted slivered almonds for a delicious and actually good-for-you treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
An easy, delicious, and quick dessert or treat. I halved the recipe, followed the mixing directions exactly, put it in an eight inch round pan, and baked at 350 for 35 minutes. Next time I would drizzle the icing over the warm cake as opposed to actually icing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I just made this cake and its so delicious. i also added some oil as suggested by other members and it came out moist and flavorful. I found it so easy to make...a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I thought this was FANTASTIC! i dont like normal cake but i loved this! i made this with only 1 cup of sugar and the sweetness was perfect with the frosting. Just make sure the cake is COMPLETELY cooled before putting the frosting on. It will melt into liquid form :) still tastes good just doens't look as pretty. Very good taste! will definatly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I have been looking for this recipe for so long! My Friend's Mother makes this and calles it swedish cake. (without nuts)I have asked her for years, but she has always had excuses not to give me the recipe. WHoo-Hoo!!! I made it today and it is exactly the same! I did decrease sugar to 1 1/2 cups not 2-Cups. It is truely something I will continue to make for years!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartford City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
My all-time favorite cake :) I have to have it every year on my birthday and in fact my husband (NOT a baker!) has even earned how to make it for me. I suppose the reason why some do not like it is because it is not your typical cake. It's VERY moist and the bits of pineapple in it make it a different texture to most cakes. That's just why it's my favorite though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States