Easy Pineapple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
My mom always made this cake when I was a child. I didn't appreciate it until I grew a little older, because I hated nuts and cream cheese back then. This is pretty much the same recipe as she used (for the cake part, not the frosting), except she added one more teaspoon of vanilla & 1/2 cup of chopped nuts. For this cake to be really moist, the secret is using canned crushed pineapple in heavy syrup. That probably sounds like sugar overload, but trust me you won't be disappointed (especially if you have just a small piece -- everything in moderation, right?). The syrup in the pineapple makes this cake dense and delicious. She used a totally different cream cheese frosting than the one printed. Your favorite recipe will do. My 5 star rating is for the memories I had of my mother making this wonderful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Everyone in my family loved this cake! It was definitely a nice change from our usual. Thank you! It will definitely go in our bi-weekly rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
So delicious and sooo easy. I made two changes: I used wheat flour instead of all purpose flour and I added a cup of toasted coconut into the batter and decreased the cooking time by 5 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This cake is delicious as is....no additional fat is needed as others have decided to add. It's very moist and has plenty of pineapple flavor. Mine only took about 30 mins. to cook and I opted to wait until it cooled to frost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
DELICIOUS!!! although i did change a few things it was absolutely perfect!i put in about half the sugar and it was still VERY sweet!i used whole wheat flower, too.i kept it in there for the right time and when i took it out it wasn't quite done but i think it was WAY better that way and so did my family! it was nice and moist and so sweet (and kinda mushy..but it was better that way!) i didn't have any cream cheese so i just glazed cool whip over it and it was so delightful and light at the same time! definately will make it again!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcake_luv

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Yummy Yummy Yummy Cake!!! This is so delicious. I baked mine only 35 minutes and it was done. I used only 1 1/2 cups sugar and it was sweet enough. This was so good, I can't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARATHERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This cake really lacked any pineapple taste AT ALL. Very chewy texture also,maybe a stick of butter would have helped. My cake came out very dark and very sweet. Its very rare that think of anything being to sweet,this is one of those rare occasions. I followed the recipe exactly. the icing is the only thing that made me not throw it out,plus the kids & husband liked it ok. I want to try this again with a few adjustments>BUTTER >PINEAPPLE FLAVORING>LESS SUGAR. IT WAS SO EASY TO MAKE, I WAS REALLY HOPING IT CAME OUT BETTER,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AQUIETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This couldn't be any easier! The only changes I made was to decrease the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and added about 1/2 cup chopped walnuts to the batter. No one was excited when I said I was going to make a pineapple cake but when they tasted it, it got rave reviews and everyone had seconds. I love that there is no fat in the mix, now I have to find a fat free frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This cake is super-yummy and DOESN'T need oil or butter! It has a great chewy & moist texture and there is plenty of fat in the frosting! I cut back on the sugar by 1/4 of a cup and they did not seem too sweet - just right. These are just like they say...very easy & fast to make -tasted a little like my carrot cake recipe. I sprinkled 1/2 cup chopped pecans on top of the frosting also. Thanks! UPDATE: Do keep this in the fridge if it is not eaten right away. It tastes yummy cold too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Oddly enough, it was another Catherine who gave me this recipe more than 30 years ago...she called it "Chop Suey Cake," she guessed because it's so speedy, she said. The recipe is not misprinted--there is no oil or fat in the cake, so do not feel compelled to add it. For those who insist a cake requires fat, think of angel food cakes! This is a delicious cake, very moist, full of pineapple flavor. "My" Catherine's recipe also included a cup of chopped nuts. Thanks, Catherine, for posting this bit of nostalgia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States