Easy Pineapple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
VERY easy recipe to follow and make. This would be a good one for the kids to make with mom or dad. Two things I would suggest. Depending on your oven start watching the cake at about 30 minutes of baking. Mine was pretty golden on the top but when I inserted a tooth pic it was raw in the middle. I popped it back in for another 10 minutes and it was VERY golden but cooked in the middle. So don't be afraid to keep it in a little longer. The other thing is if you plan to frost it the recipe for the frosting does not make that much. So if you like a nice layer of frosting I'd say double it. I used cream cheese, confectioners sugar and coconut flakes and it came out fabulous. You could also try cream cheese, marshmellow fluff and some crushed pinapple as a frosting too. Both are great! Oh and I also used 1 and 1/2 cups of white sugar rather than the 2 cups the recipe called for. Overall....This ones a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaCan2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This cake does have good flavor and if I make again I will add 1/4 c. melted butter. It reminds me of a pineapple upside down cake because of it's stickiness. Even though I had sprayed my pans well the cake stuck and made it so I could not give some of it away as I had planned. I made my in 2 8" rounds with plans of sharing one. The icing is good and over all this is something simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
It was a pretty good cake. A little bit too much sugar and the frosting was a little clumpy. Next time I am going to use a little less sugar. Over all it was a very good recipe and I will Def. try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trisha.dejesus93
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Thanks so much for this recipe, Catherine! I live in Guatemala and sell cakes on the weekend and people just LOVE this cake! It is so very easy and wonderful because we have fresh pineapple all year round. I never used canned pineapple, just cut the fruit in trunks crush them in a food processor. In time I did made some minor changes, like reducing the sugar and adding more flour and a little bit of oil. People don't seem to mind the consistency, my personal taste though prefers it less gooey (adding some oil and more flour will achieve that). I also use less sugar in the icing, it is way too sweet in my opinion. Great tasting cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was a very easy cake but shockingly too sweet even for the cake lovers. My daughter was bouncing off the walls. Definately not something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
this was so easy and fast ! and most of all, delicious! I cut the frosting in half and it was more than enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Tasteless, too much sugar in recipe, don't waste your time...find something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
yummy & simple to prep for a last second dessert for family..I didn't use the confectioners sugar for icing, just melted butter and cream cheese and drizzled top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I make this all the time and have passed the recipe on again and again. I tend to make low fat/low calorie substitions, but be careful doing that with the frosting - you must use either full fat butter or cream cheese for the right consistency. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This is an excellent cake for potlucks - I add 1 cup chopped walnuts which gives it a unique taste - almost like carrot cake and so moist. Also, I bake this in a sheet cake pan for 20 minutes which goes further and yet, everyone is still asking for more. The cream cheese frosting tops it off well and I usually add some sprinkled crushed nuts to the top as well. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States