Easy Pineapple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This cake was delicious!!! Turned out very moist and delicious. After reading other reviews I was worried about it being too sweet so I reduced the sugar as others did to 250g. For extra flavour I added 1 tsp of cinnamon and I really liked the extra flavour. Did not need the full cooking time as my cake was finished and golden brown on top after only 35 minutes. For the icing, the next time I make this I will probably look for another recipe for cream cheese icing. I don't know if I did something wrong as I followed the recipe but my icing was quite runny and I had to keep adding more icing sugar which then made it soooo soo sweet. All in all will definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovely_lori88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
really good.. I was skeptical about using the frosting but it was good.. I just used my own cream cheese frosting recipe though and made it a little less thick and sweet than I usually would. Cake needs a little cinnamon I think but definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Giles Hester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I had this recipe since 1982. Hadn't made it in years, but I do remember how incredible it was. So I made it again yesterday same recipe as the one here..but it was flat and tasted like flour and wasn't the dark brown color I remember. I just cdon't understand. Going to try again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Will not make again! Edges sticky and hard but center of cake like mush. Made using directions to the letter. Even cooked a few extra minutes. Way to sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
thank you for the recipe , Catherine . I followed it exactly , but added 1/2 cup walnuts like other reviewers suggested .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nawal F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
What an easy cake to make! I used 1.5 cups of sugar instead of two. Next time I will add some almonds and I lower the oven temperature. I was worried the cake would burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This cake is very good..but 45 minutes of baking is too long..30 minutes is perfect..also I add drained pineapple to the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
VERY easy recipe to follow and make. This would be a good one for the kids to make with mom or dad. Two things I would suggest. Depending on your oven start watching the cake at about 30 minutes of baking. Mine was pretty golden on the top but when I inserted a tooth pic it was raw in the middle. I popped it back in for another 10 minutes and it was VERY golden but cooked in the middle. So don't be afraid to keep it in a little longer. The other thing is if you plan to frost it the recipe for the frosting does not make that much. So if you like a nice layer of frosting I'd say double it. I used cream cheese, confectioners sugar and coconut flakes and it came out fabulous. You could also try cream cheese, marshmellow fluff and some crushed pinapple as a frosting too. Both are great! Oh and I also used 1 and 1/2 cups of white sugar rather than the 2 cups the recipe called for. Overall....This ones a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaCan2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This cake does have good flavor and if I make again I will add 1/4 c. melted butter. It reminds me of a pineapple upside down cake because of it's stickiness. Even though I had sprayed my pans well the cake stuck and made it so I could not give some of it away as I had planned. I made my in 2 8" rounds with plans of sharing one. The icing is good and over all this is something simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
It was a pretty good cake. A little bit too much sugar and the frosting was a little clumpy. Next time I am going to use a little less sugar. Over all it was a very good recipe and I will Def. try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trisha.dejesus93
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States