Easy Pineapple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I had this recipe since 1982. Hadn't made it in years, but I do remember how incredible it was. So I made it again yesterday same recipe as the one here..but it was flat and tasted like flour and wasn't the dark brown color I remember. I just cdon't understand. Going to try again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Will not make again! Edges sticky and hard but center of cake like mush. Made using directions to the letter. Even cooked a few extra minutes. Way to sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
thank you for the recipe , Catherine . I followed it exactly , but added 1/2 cup walnuts like other reviewers suggested .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nawal F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
What an easy cake to make! I used 1.5 cups of sugar instead of two. Next time I will add some almonds and I lower the oven temperature. I was worried the cake would burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This cake is very good..but 45 minutes of baking is too long..30 minutes is perfect..also I add drained pineapple to the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
VERY easy recipe to follow and make. This would be a good one for the kids to make with mom or dad. Two things I would suggest. Depending on your oven start watching the cake at about 30 minutes of baking. Mine was pretty golden on the top but when I inserted a tooth pic it was raw in the middle. I popped it back in for another 10 minutes and it was VERY golden but cooked in the middle. So don't be afraid to keep it in a little longer. The other thing is if you plan to frost it the recipe for the frosting does not make that much. So if you like a nice layer of frosting I'd say double it. I used cream cheese, confectioners sugar and coconut flakes and it came out fabulous. You could also try cream cheese, marshmellow fluff and some crushed pinapple as a frosting too. Both are great! Oh and I also used 1 and 1/2 cups of white sugar rather than the 2 cups the recipe called for. Overall....This ones a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaCan2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This cake does have good flavor and if I make again I will add 1/4 c. melted butter. It reminds me of a pineapple upside down cake because of it's stickiness. Even though I had sprayed my pans well the cake stuck and made it so I could not give some of it away as I had planned. I made my in 2 8" rounds with plans of sharing one. The icing is good and over all this is something simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
It was a pretty good cake. A little bit too much sugar and the frosting was a little clumpy. Next time I am going to use a little less sugar. Over all it was a very good recipe and I will Def. try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trisha.dejesus93
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Thanks so much for this recipe, Catherine! I live in Guatemala and sell cakes on the weekend and people just LOVE this cake! It is so very easy and wonderful because we have fresh pineapple all year round. I never used canned pineapple, just cut the fruit in trunks crush them in a food processor. In time I did made some minor changes, like reducing the sugar and adding more flour and a little bit of oil. People don't seem to mind the consistency, my personal taste though prefers it less gooey (adding some oil and more flour will achieve that). I also use less sugar in the icing, it is way too sweet in my opinion. Great tasting cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was a very easy cake but shockingly too sweet even for the cake lovers. My daughter was bouncing off the walls. Definately not something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States