Easy Pineapple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I read many of the reviews before making this cake, and decided to give it a try. While it wasn't bad, we all felt that it was missing just a little 'something'. I loved the ease of making it, and the fact that it was fat free. Perhaps next time I will add a little cinnamon and some salt. I didn't mind that it was dense and moist, and while I did use canned cream cheese frosting, I suspect that it might be even better with just a dusting of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Fischer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I made this cake exactly as directed but baked it in a bundt pan for a friend's birthday. She and her husband said it was the best cake they have ever eaten. The cake is very dense but lovely. I made my frosting with whipped cream cheese, powdered sugar, pineapple juice, and unsweetened coconut. Then I sprinkled more coconut on top and placed little pieces of pineapple. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I had the oven on 350 degrees... After 20 minutes in the oven it was getting burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Absolutely delicious! It was very quick and easy to make. I cannot believe a cake can be this moist and heavy without any added fat, but it really is. I followed the recipe to the word. I used a greased bundt pan and had to bake the cake for the full 45 minutes. This is now a go-to favourite of ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I like chewy and really soft cakes so I had no problem with the consistency but, I hate cakes that are too sweet. Recipes are dependent on your taste buds and I did not taste any pineapple flavor in this cake only sugar; it definitely needs other flavors to enhance it. I won’t be making this cake again because I would rather a cake without pineapple as the main ingredient. The only thing I can suggest is to add other things (e.g.coconut,orange rinds) because pineapple is mostly water and does not have a lot of flavor to begin with so when baking it becomes a watery unflavored mush. I still appreciate and respect everyone's recipe contributions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This was a delicious cake and went down a treat. Based on review suggestions and personal preferences I made a few changes. I added about 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts, about two tablespoons of coconut and (because I was a bit nervous about the consistency after adding additional ingredients) about 1/4 cup of oil. I also made a dairy free icing with walnuts, coconut and almond slivers. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
took longer to bake and it burned the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Did not bake evenly at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I made some tweaks that really enhanced the cake- I used fresh cut pineapple, did 1/2 white sugar 1/2 brown sugar, and used spiced rum to replace the juice that would have come with the canned pineapple. I also added crushed pineapple and macadamia nuts to the frosting. delliiiicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This could be a five with a few changes. I added 1/2 cup butter and cut the sugar in half and this cake turned out amazing. You need to have some sort of oil or fat in your cake otherwise it will turn out rubbery and the sugar will burn. I mixed the sugar with the butter and then added the egg and vanilla. I mixed the flour and the baking soda in a separate bowl and added a pinch of salt before adding the butter/egg/sugar mixture to it. I also only cooked it a half hour. For the icing i doubled the cream cheese and added 8 oz of crushed pineapple including juice and 1/3 cup shredded coconut. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States