Easy Pineapple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Fantastic! I used unbleached flour, 20 oz can crushed pineapple w/ juice, and for good measure a stick of mealted butter. It is wonderful. I think the trick is to measure carefully & be sure to use unbleached or all purpose flour. Also watch your oven--my cake was done in 30 minutes. I'll be making this cake often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Sorry, we did not like this cake and ended up throwing most of it out. As others said, it was more like a bar cake and really lacked something. Another reviewer suggested adding oil, so maybe that's it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This cake was AWESOME. Incredibly moist and great flavor. A previous review stated a cake needs oil, which I agree, so I added 1/4 cup of vegetable oil and it turned out great. I reserved a small portion of the crushed pineapples and added it to the frosting along with coconut flakes. Everything was perfect. My family and Fiance loved it. I will make this cake again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Quick, easy & ohh so good! In the summer I keep it chilled in the fridge for a cool summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Wonderful! I didn't have crushed pineapples but rings instead.. so I crushed those up myself. I reserved about 1/4 cup of the juice, which I originally planned to add to the frosting but found that the frosting was perfect as is. Instead I brushed it over my cake with a pastry brush after baking. I found that my cake was done sooner than the recipe stated... I took it out as soon as it turned a dark brownish color on top, which scared me at first as I thought it had burned a bit but it was perfect! The cream cheese frosting & texture of the cake reminded us a lot of carrot cake. It was absolutely fabulous & will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
This cake is fabulous!!! I can't comment on the cream cheese frosting, as I made my own, but the cake turned out wonderful. All I had was a can of sliced pineapple rings, so I crushed them by hand and drained enough juice so it was the consistancy of a can of crushed. The cake doesn't rise as much as other cakes but it looks and tastes fine, and as for those who said it was hard you must have overcooked it - this recipe yielded a very nice, moist cake that would be fine even without frosting. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This Pineapple Cake is the best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charleston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I've been making this cake since I was a girl. Everyone always loves it! It's so moist and chewy. The cream cheese icing is what makes it "killer". Beat together 1/2 cup softened butter, 8 ounces softened cream cheese, 1 1/2 cup 10x sugar and 1 tsp. vanilla. Spread over cooled cake and watch it fly outta the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
this has been one of my favorites for almost my entire life. To add a little something else to the frosting, reserve 1/4 C. of pineapple (draining as much juice as possible into the cake) and mix in before you frost. This cake never lasts around my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Michigan, USA
Living In: Harrisville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
either i did it wrong or this is just not a good recipi, it taste like there is something missing almost like raw, while i was making it i thought there is something missing and sure enough it taste like baking soda and flower, it is too sticky and yuk, i am throwing it out and will not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States