Easy Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I made a mistake & bought corn flour instead of all purpose flour so I thought it was going to be a disaster... but I added some brown sugar to the mix (it was for an apple pie) & it turned out great! It was kind of like a apple crumble!! I will do it exactly like that next time ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I wouldn't have believed it unless I tried it. ...it was late in the evening and I needed a crust, but didn't feel like going to the trouble to chip frozen butter and do the pie crust "thing". I found this recipe and I was shocked. Made as read, it seems better for a savory dish, a quiche or something. Add a bit of cinnamon and a tad more sugar and it was berry pie worthy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
So easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Delicious! Flaky! Easy! Takes no time to make or to bake. Great when baked with the filling or when blind baked. Easiest clean-up. Compared to other crusts using butter, this is practically no work at all, and just as tasty. I only used 1/4 tsp salt and 1 Tbsp sugar, mixing them with the milk first (inside the pie dish) to allow the sugar to start dissolving so that it doesn't have a too grainy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Increased sugar to 3 T as others suggested. Did not bake before baking my apple pie. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I have never reviewed a recipe from this site even though I've used a ton of them before. I am 67 years old and finally prepared a pie yesterday that was absolutely terrific! My mom could make the best piecrust with her eyes closed, but I never was able to come close. Now I'm planning to make all sorts of pies and quiches. By the way, this recipe worked in my 10" pyrex pie plate and I did not pre-bake before filling with pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is a five star pie crust recipe. I've made it twice now and both times it turned out beautifully. The first time I made the crust I rolled out the dough between two sheets of parchment paper and baked it according to the instructions. The second time I was making a yogurt pie and wanted a little sweeter crust- I added extra sugar (2T instead of teaspoons) and pressed the crust into the pan to bake. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I don't usually comment on recipes, but this one really impressed me. I tried it last night when I discovered I had more pumpkin pie filling than frozen pie crusts. I used to love baking pies, but I could never make a good crust so I gave it up. I didn't expect to have any more success with this recipe. Wrong! This crust is amazing. It's light, flaky, and tender with about 10% the work that most such crusts require. If it worked this well for me, it will work for anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I've relied on this recipe year after year when needing a quick, no fuss crust for holiday pies (saves time when so busy with so many other menu items for Thanksgiving). It isn't the most flavorful or flaky, in fact, it can be a little grainy. Don't let that discourage you from trying it. Because, still, it's simple and let's the pie ingredients and toppings be the hero. So I consider it more of a practical base for my pies, not a component of the pie I expect guests to comment/compliment on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
it's really easy! and surprising tastes delicious...rivals some of the more complicated butter and shortening recipes i've tried - and anyone can whip it up so fast. i use canola oil because i don't keep vegetable oil in the house and it works like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States