Easy Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I love this recipe! However, I lowered the salt down to 1/2 a teaspoon. I used the crust in my mini muffin pan, and made tarts! :) they were delish!! Thank you, B1BMOM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Such a great recipe! I don't always have butter around so this was perfect. I made this yesterday as a crust for a "taco pie" and was really happy with it.I used 1C of flour and 1/2C of cornmeal to give it some crunch, and used less salt and just a pinch of sugar.I pre-baked it for 15 minutes then let it cool. It was SO good! I will be trying the original recipe for when I make quiche, I'm so happy I don't have to buy frozen pie crusts anymore!! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This recipe saved my Easter breakfast. I was a little unsure using oil instead of shortening or butter, but for my quiche, it was salty and flaky. I wish I had made two! I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Just as the three stars suggest, this recipe was 'okay'. I really wasn't a fan of the oil smell/taste, or the texture. It really didn't hold together well at all, very crumbly. I used this crust with a coconut meringue pie, and so added a T. of sugar and halfed the salt. I wish I would of added more sugar and even less salt. It is a very simple and no-mess recipe. I'll probably play with the ingredients a bit in the future to see if I can get something that works a bit better. I'm thinking I'll use melted butter instead of oil, very little salt, and quite a bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I have never been able to make a decent pie crust but when we recently began receiving eggs I decided to give this a try for quiche. It worked so well! My SO and kids all loved it. It was very easy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Great recipe and so easy. But definitely only for savory dishes. It's not an all-purpose recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sakuba29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I used this recipe for a homemade pecan pie but used unrefined organic coconut oil...I will try only 1/2 teaspoon of salt next time as some other reviewers suggested...Otherwise, it was easy to make and very tasty though crumbly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I needed a premade pie crust for a recipe with a chocolate filling. After I broke the one I bought I panicked and found this recipe. It was so easy and the texture so great! It really was too salty for a dessert recipe, although everyone said it worked well with the chocolate. In the future I'll probably add a dash of salt and keep the rest of the recipe the same. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
For being so wonderfully easy and quick, I would have given this recipe 4.5 or even 5 stars - if it weren't for the vegetable oil aspect. Came out of the oven reeking of oil and I knew before tasting it that this would be no replacement for a good quality pastry recipe (taste only confirmed it: tasted like the cheap oily crusts you get in grocery store pies). Easy solution: 1/2 cup melted butter instead of veg oil. Improves this recipe at least a star or two and gives a buttery flakiness instead of a greasy taste. I made two with butter and two with vegetable oil: the butter ones are gone and the veg oil ones are moulding in the fridge! :S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatieA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 446) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States