Easy Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
After reading the reviews, I decreased the salt and increased the sugar based on suggestions for using the crust with a dessert. I made a chocolate chess pie with this crust, and it was good. Not the best ever, but we were in a pinch as company was arriving soon for a picnic and I was one pie crust short! Not the first recipe I'd go to if I had the time to do the "real" thing, but definitely a life-saver in a pinch and not bad tasting. The crust was flaky and texture was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaBee
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This was the worst pie crust recipe I've ever tried. I'm sorry I tried it. It was a waste of time. And I've made a lot of flippin homemade pies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Great easy recipe! I used it for a healthy quiche so I left the sugar out entirely and only put in 1/2 tsp of salt. I also substituted whole wheat flour for 1/2 cup of the all-purpose flour, which gave it a nice nutty flavor and a bit more fiber! I will definitely use this recipe when I don't feel like using butter. I gave it four stars because my crust was sandy rather than the flaky that I prefer (probably because of my whole wheat addition) and because I simply prefer the flavor and texture of a butter crust. No complaints here, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oamter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I followed the recipe, omitting the sugar since I was making quiche & not a sweet pie, but it was really just okay. It wasn't flaky, but I kind of knew it wouldn't be since it wasn't with butter. Instead it ended up being kind of dry & really crumbly. It works in a pinch if you don't have the ingredients for a flaky crust, but definitely not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This required adjusting, and it was still pretty crumbly. Next time I'm adding more liquid, but the salt was way too much, and I reduced it by half, and it was still a little too salty. I will try this again, because it is the simplest I have found, but it's not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
VERY CRUMBLY couldnt roll out easily, after that i tried to refirgerate to see if the second one would roll out better and no it didnt we will see how it taste it didnt make a mess but couldnt do the proper roll out method
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I used this recipe last night for a ham and cheese pie(Cindi G. recipe on this site). It was sort of an experiment for both the crust and the pie. The crust was great! I used 1/2 t. salt and only 1 t. sugar for a savory pie. I did not pre-bake the crust just patted it in to my 10" quiche pan and filled it with the pie ingredients. The crust baked just fine while the savory pie baked. Thanks for an easy way to make a delicious pastry - I'll try it again for a fruit/pecan or sweet pie using the 2 t. sugar in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I love this recipe! However, I lowered the salt down to 1/2 a teaspoon. I used the crust in my mini muffin pan, and made tarts! :) they were delish!! Thank you, B1BMOM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Such a great recipe! I don't always have butter around so this was perfect. I made this yesterday as a crust for a "taco pie" and was really happy with it.I used 1C of flour and 1/2C of cornmeal to give it some crunch, and used less salt and just a pinch of sugar.I pre-baked it for 15 minutes then let it cool. It was SO good! I will be trying the original recipe for when I make quiche, I'm so happy I don't have to buy frozen pie crusts anymore!! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This recipe saved my Easter breakfast. I was a little unsure using oil instead of shortening or butter, but for my quiche, it was salty and flaky. I wish I had made two! I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States