Easy Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
The crust turned out crumbly and sandy with a greasy off taste. If you're really tight on time and/or ingredients, I think it would be fine in a strong tasting pie, like a fruit pie or a pot pie or something. I used it for a light egg custard pie, and the weird crust taste was very prominent. The only change I made to the recipe was to decrease the salt to 1/2 tsp since I was making a sweet pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I wont ever use this recipe again. It was grainy and had a sandy feel to it. It is also very dry and fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
It's not a flaky pie crust but l love how EASY it is to make. It is quick way to make a pie and taste GREAT. LOVED IT!!!!!!!! Don't mean to be rude but I don't know why others had so much trouble. Also the recipe said mix all ingredients in the pan (And nothing about rolling it out). I was able to roll out a top crust. I just had to keep drying and flouring the rolling pin then I cut it in half to get it on the pie and it came out Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Just made this...amazingly great crust. The mess that traditional crust makes had me buying crust, no more! So easy and flaky; isn't that what we all want?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Good. Definitely a lot of salt, so I reduced by half and added some sugar. Very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Great recipe, one thing I liked better is substituting Cocoanut milk and then reducing the salt to half teaspoon and reducing the sugar to one teaspoon. Bake ahead of filling with fruit for ten minutes. After filling with fruit or quiche recipe, bake again as suggested. Worked great for my strawberry/apple pie! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne K. Weiss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I agree with other comments, there are better crusts out there. But I am going to keep this recipe as well, because of course they are not made with oil, and this is definitely a plus! moreover, it is not messy at all: if you really want to keep it to a minimum effort, you don't need a bowl and a rolling pin either. I mean to try it again, making the kitchen robot do all the work; I think it will be more "smooth" and perhaps less sandy and grainy... also, if you plan to use this for a sweet pie, be careful of the amount of salt (I happened to use it on my first try with a caramel filling, and it was fortunate, I declared that I had a "caramel au burre salè" French pie in mind from the beginning, but it was so untrue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Definitely easy to make. I was using it for a pumpkin pie, and so I followed other user suggestions and cut the salt and upped the sugar. HOWEVER, I still had the taste of vegetable oil in my mouth for five minutes after finishing my slice of pie. If you're using it for something sweet, I would definitely suggest using melted butter as your lipid instead. It would make for a much more savory, less gross aftertasting dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Sullivan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This is easy and quick and tastes a whole lot better than the store bought crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Everyone else loved this but I wasn't so fond. Made it with a quiche, and that would be all I would use it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States