Easy Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I would not use this recipe (as stated) for desserts. The crust would be too salty for a dessert. However, it would be great for a quiche. If you decrease the salt by half and use a generous tablespoon of sugar (instead of only 2 tsp) - this is great! Fortunately I tasted the dough before pressing it into the pan - and added enough extra sugar to still use it for my pecan pie. Came out fantastic! Since pecan pies typically bake for a long time, I didn't bother baking the crust and it came out cooked through after an hour and a half baking. Rating four stars because this produced a very simple and quick alternative to rolling out a pie crust - and if enough sugar is added, is very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
501 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I have avoided making pie crusts for many years because I could never get it right. They were too much effort and always turned out tough. But I gave this recipe a try and I am absolutely ecstatic to have found such an easy recipe that turned out so well! It was tender, flaky and flavorful! My crust was for a quiche and I used olive oil as another reviewer here suggested. It turned out fantastic. This is a keeper for sure and I am saying goodbye to Pillsbury crusts! Thank you so much for a great recipe that will definitely save me time and money in the kitchen. An update on my original review - I healthied this recipe up a bit by using 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour plus 1 cup of white flour and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robertsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
FINALLY! A pie crust that works! I just found this recipe a couple of weeks ago and I've made it at least 10 times. I've used it as a cobbler crust, top and bottom layers of fruit pie, even cut up sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar. It's so so good! I do agree with past reviewers that if you're making a sweet dish, use only a pinch of salt and up the sugar quite a bit. If you're making a savory dish, like a quiche, leave the recipe as is or cut the salt just a bit. Otherwise, this recipe is IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
292 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tulips*n*Truffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
AMAZING! BEST PIE CRUST EVER...EASIEST PIE CRUST EVER... I used olive oil and it turned out great, couldn't taste the olive flavor at all! So much healthier than pie crusts full of butter and easier too :) I had given up on making pies until now :) Thank you Louise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I was looking for a quick pie crust to make an instant cheesecake... This pie crust has got to be one of the best! It was wonderful. I, too, would decrease the salt a bit, as it was slightly salty. All in all, though, this pie crust is one of the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This was very easy and it tasted better than store-bought and frozen crust. Will make again, but I won't pre-bake it this time- it came out a little burnt on the edges after I baked the filling in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I used this recipe because I didn't have any butter or shortening, and I was amazed at the crust I got. It has a crisp crumbly texture. I have used it for custard pies as well as beef pot pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
It was a great crust and so easy. Before i read the directions, i got out a mixing bowl. Then, WOW, no need for a mixing bowl. Boy was i happy; one less dish to clean. I think that for fruit pies, i might add a little more sugar. but for all others, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I used this crust for lemon meringue pie and it worked out PERFECTLY! It was easy to make, no hassle, with normal things I have in my kitchen. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
vERY EASY TO MAKE, 4 STARS BECAUSE IT'S NOT A CRUST FOR DESSERTS BECAUSE OF THE SALT, NEXT TIME I WILL USE LESS SALT OR MORE SUGAR, I WILL USE AGAIN AND AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States