Easy Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made this yesterday for a spinach quiche, it was amazing! That was my first time ever making a pie crust. It was so easy,literally taking less than five minutes to prepare. I figured that if I messed it up, I could quickly run to the store for a pre-baked crust. It was honestly the best pie crust I have ever had, and my family has made a ton of pies! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Awesome recipe!! It was so easy and tasted yummy with my dutch apple pie! I used less salt and added a bit more sugar, like others suggested and it turned out awesome! It tasted like I took much time rolling out the dough, but didn't have to! I should've covered the edges with foil half way through baking because the edges got more brown than I would've liked, but no biggie. Thanks for an easy, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
My family enjoyed it :) I would for sure say this is not my 'go to" or anything, but it is good when your baking something and want a more flakey/crumbly like crust and turned out perfect for my peach pie (that was real juicy). I think it would be nice for cheesecake too. I will probably use this recipe again when I am out of shortening :) I DID use half the salt called for and I only pre-baked it for a few minutes while I was finishing up the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplemonday

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA
Living In: Pismo Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I think that even 1 tbsp of sugar is not enough for sweet pies. Next time will try 2 tbsp. 1/4 tsp of salt is ok for such amount of flour. Yes, it's very grainy, so it doesn't work for a top crust. Besides, it's a problem to cut it because the crust tends to crumble. I made a pecan pie with it. Not so bad when you're in a hurry or just don't want to waste your time on rolling out a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
So easy! Don't put it on the bottom rack though....mine cooked too fast and burned the edges but The recipe is great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I used Olive oil as well and it was super easy. I used this on top of a chicken pot pie and it was perfect. I did not add the sugar or salt though. If you are putting it on top of a pie, it would better to chill it for a bit and roll or squish into the shape you need on plastic wrap. Also, cook for a little longer then 15 minutes, mine should have stayed in the oven longer, but that's my fault not the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
While this will never replace my go-to pie crust recipe, it's fantastic for if you need to whip something up fast. If I have leftover filling and no crust left, I'll throw this together (takes about five minutes) and make a small pie or tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
AWESOME recipe. LOVED LOVED LOVED it. This one is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Way too much oil. My dough was runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This was a very quick and easy recipe. Unfortunately, even with reducing the salt as other reviewers suggested, it was still too salty and overly crumbly. I made a top crust as well (this was for a meat pie made with leftover pot roast). Maybe the texture had a chalky mouth feel and the crumbling was more obvious because I included a top crust. I'll return to a more traditional crust, it's well worth the additional effort, but I so wanted a quicker alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States