Easy Picadillo Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
gave them a try and I'm so glad that I did. Made these last night as posted and they were very good, couldn't get enough of them. Even my three picky eaters want more. This recipe has ignited an empanada spark in my home. As I understand it empanadas can be fill with just about anything and I'm willing to try empanadas with many different fillings. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GHung
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I wanted to make Cuban Empanadas with Picadillo the old-fashion way by making fresh yeast dough from scratch using an original recipe from Ivonne, Cuban in the Midwest blog. The results are wholesome and just as tasty with seasoned ground beef known as "picadillo" in Spanish with raisins. Golden Empanadas con Picadillo yield 16 empanadas for 2.5 cups of flour and one active yeast envelope.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GHung

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
name is very deceptive since "picadillo" is ground beef not shredded chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Of course using canned biscuit dough does not make for the most authentic crust, but it was a LOT easier than making it from scratch and still came out great. They were a unanimous hit at our potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I'm not a big fan of using canned biscuits when you are trying to duplicate a dough that is as delicate as an Empanada or pie dough. It's just not the same. I prefer a flakier crust. The Picadillo filling just didn't work for me either. This recipe just didn't quite hit any of the highs for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ComfortCook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eldorado, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I loved the mixture of tastes all in a neat package - and it was easy to make and double the recipe. I have two more dinners sitting in the freezer! Watch the cook time, 450 is too hot for 16 minutes. They would have burned - it was closer to 11 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Delicious little turnovers! I actually used pre-fab pie dough (from the deli section of the grocery store) and cut out 5" rounds. They were flakey and tasty with great flavor. Since I was making them for the first time (and for a party) I thought they needed some sort of dipping sauce. I made the Ginger Dipping Sauce, the Mustard Cream Sauce and Bloomin' Onion Dipping Sauce and got rave reviews for everything. I made the Empanadas 2 weeks before the party, froze them on a cookie sheet then put them in a zip lock bag. About a half hour before serving I popped them frozen into the oven and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan's Nana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
my friends and i made this recipe and everyone really enjoyed it. we left out the almonds because someone had nut allergies, but it still was very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
My husband was really excited to try these...until he did! Cute idea, very easy to make, but the filling was just a little weird for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States