Easy Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This recipe was delicious! A keeper in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
We loved this. My butcher suggested that I use cube steak for this (because it was on sale) and it turned out wonderful. I would definitely use cube steak again. This was sooo easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was super easy. I've made with the cornstarch and beef broth, but I like it better using a mix of canned consomme and beef gravy instead. I also add extra garlic, water chestnuts, ginger, and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
We’re headed home from Naples tomorrow and, as always, this was the ideal quick and easy dish to make when I wanted something to clean OUT the leftovers, not create them. And it seems we always have stray peppers and onions to make use of. We used a NY strip steak rather than the sirloin, not because it was necessary but because Hubs insisted upon it. I stuck it in the freezer for about 20-30 minutes so it was easier to slice thinly. I like tomato in my pepper steak, and it just so happened we had one to make use of as well. I used fresh minced garlic rather than garlic powder, but outside of that I pretty much followed the cooking instructions closely. I did, however, quickly stir fry the beef, removed it and set it aside, then stir fried the peppers and onions. I returned all to the pan, along with tomato wedges, before adding the cornstarch/broth mixture. Only because we had some broccoli to use did I serve it with this dish, but it turned out to be a good pairing (in fact, I stirred my dinner altogether on my plate :) Once again, we enjoyed a terrific dinner making use of odds and ends before we headed out on a flight again and needed to clean out the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
great start to making my own version...I finally figured out how to make that sauce with cornstarch..thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby_Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Was great! My picky husband loved it. I did have to add more broth and it still didn't seem "saucy" enough, so I will do about 3 cups of broth next time. There will be a next time ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I absolutely love pepper steak but lost my faithful recipe somewhere in the move. I have tried others before this, but this one beat them for flavor by far and came closest to my original recipe! I used leftover bbq'd steaks, cut very thin and into bite size pieces. I used 2 c. water with two packs beef bouillon powder instead of the swansons brand and I added freshly minced garlic cloves. After reading other reviews I tasted the broth and kept adding soy sauce until it had the flavor i was seeking. All in all, i used about 4 tbsp low sodium soy sauce. I used 2 fresh green peppers and 1 red pepper and 1 large onion, all thinly sliced and bite size pieces. Until i find my Grandmother's original recipe, this will definitely be the recipe I use! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This was really quick and easy, and it tasted great. My whole family can't wait for me to make it again. The only thing I changed was using real garlic instead of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Very easy,very good. I also chose to simmer a semi-tough piece of meat in the broth for a little bit to tenderize it some I also found it a bit lacking so I added some teriyaki sauce to it. All in all very well received. Thanx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States