Easy Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I just made this for dinner tonight. It came together really quickly and we all thought it was quite tasty! I did find it a little salty but I'm still not sure why since I used lower sodium soy sauce and I only used the 1TB called for, unlike many other reviewers who added even more. The only changes I made was to (1) use real garlic (finely minced) in place of the powder and (2) sprinkle a dash of ground ginger in with the cornstarch mixture. I felt the sauce came out somewhat thick for my liking so next time I'd probably use a little less cornstarch. Overall, a great and easy recipe that I will definitely be adding to our dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
this is very good,I did do a few minor changes, first,I bought a beef bottom sliced steaks pounded them out to about half an inch or 3/4 inch.I slightly seasoned with fresh garlic,salt and pepper then I put the meat in cornstarch and rolled them around,cooked the meat.while the meat is cooking,I didnt have beef stock so I used beef boullion cubes with hot water added fresh minced garlic,lots of blk pepper a dash of salt(make sure the boullion mixture is not too salty,u can dilute if it is with more hot water or delete the salt)and red pepper flakes,shoyu (soy sauce) and maggi (yellow bottle,look in the mexican aisle or next to the steak sauces or worcestershire).Now back to the meat,once the meat is slightly still red in the middle I added sliced mnushrooms,sliced onions and sliced red and green bell peppers cook till meat is done to your liking then add the boullion mixture simmer,stirring often cover and simmer till thicken (meat is so tender if u have enough liquid and simnmer to soften).served over white rice and a salad its very good.I had leftovers for brunch with an over medium egg on top,this was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This came out better than I thought. I read all reviews first then revised to best suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This recipe was delicious! A keeper in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
We loved this. My butcher suggested that I use cube steak for this (because it was on sale) and it turned out wonderful. I would definitely use cube steak again. This was sooo easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was super easy. I've made with the cornstarch and beef broth, but I like it better using a mix of canned consomme and beef gravy instead. I also add extra garlic, water chestnuts, ginger, and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
We’re headed home from Naples tomorrow and, as always, this was the ideal quick and easy dish to make when I wanted something to clean OUT the leftovers, not create them. And it seems we always have stray peppers and onions to make use of. We used a NY strip steak rather than the sirloin, not because it was necessary but because Hubs insisted upon it. I stuck it in the freezer for about 20-30 minutes so it was easier to slice thinly. I like tomato in my pepper steak, and it just so happened we had one to make use of as well. I used fresh minced garlic rather than garlic powder, but outside of that I pretty much followed the cooking instructions closely. I did, however, quickly stir fry the beef, removed it and set it aside, then stir fried the peppers and onions. I returned all to the pan, along with tomato wedges, before adding the cornstarch/broth mixture. Only because we had some broccoli to use did I serve it with this dish, but it turned out to be a good pairing (in fact, I stirred my dinner altogether on my plate :) Once again, we enjoyed a terrific dinner making use of odds and ends before we headed out on a flight again and needed to clean out the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
great start to making my own version...I finally figured out how to make that sauce with cornstarch..thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby_Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Was great! My picky husband loved it. I did have to add more broth and it still didn't seem "saucy" enough, so I will do about 3 cups of broth next time. There will be a next time ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States