Easy Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I gave this recipe 3 stars for flavor. It was extremely easy - good for a busy weeknight, but the meat turned out a little tough and the flavor was not as robust as I was expecting. I will try it again, but increase the soy sauce and garlic powder. I also will try simmering the meat in the beef broth before adding the corn starch slurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Super easy. I added minced garlic to the meat stir-fry and fresh mushrooms with the onion and pepper. I tenderized the meat with a little pounding. A definate keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Hubby and I loved this. After seein reviews, i added 2 big fresh garlic cloves (minced), and used 2 n half tablespoons soy sauce 4 mo flavour. It was heavenly! Restaurant stuff. Thank u!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
We’re headed home from Naples tomorrow and, as always, this was the ideal quick and easy dish to make when I wanted something to clean OUT the leftovers, not create them. And it seems we always have stray peppers and onions to make use of. We used a NY strip steak rather than the sirloin, not because it was necessary but because Hubs insisted upon it. I stuck it in the freezer for about 20-30 minutes so it was easier to slice thinly. I like tomato in my pepper steak, and it just so happened we had one to make use of as well. I used fresh minced garlic rather than garlic powder, but outside of that I pretty much followed the cooking instructions closely. I did, however, quickly stir fry the beef, removed it and set it aside, then stir fried the peppers and onions. I returned all to the pan, along with tomato wedges, before adding the cornstarch/broth mixture. Only because we had some broccoli to use did I serve it with this dish, but it turned out to be a good pairing (in fact, I stirred my dinner altogether on my plate :) Once again, we enjoyed a terrific dinner making use of odds and ends before we headed out on a flight again and needed to clean out the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
The recipe was really good. I just added about ten chopped up baby carrots, and used thin cut breakfast steaks instead of the top sirloin. Overall we all enjoyed it and we will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I liked this recipe. I always wondered how to get more sauce with my meat. I actually didn't follow as such not because I did not like the way above it is just because I started my cooking my meat than figure I wanted something different than just steak. What I did was I broiled my seasoned and broiled my steak. I actually simmer the sauce above than added my peppers,onions and meat (that I sliced after I broiled it, I like broiling my meat because even tough meat comes out not so tough)and let it thickened. The peppers really came out in the broth mix. I like this recipe because it is simple and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maldonadolove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I like this recipe. It's really good. I added more water into the cornstarch mixture though so that it's not too high in sodium. But will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is pretty good and very easy to prepare. I added a dash of gravy master browning sauce just to give it a nicer color. I used low sodium broth and soy sauce and it was still pretty flavorful. I’ll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
We like this recipe. I also simmer the meat until tender then add the other ingredients. I had trouble with themeat being too tough for my taste. This is the recipe most like our favorite from Chinese take out. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I always do my own spin on Chinese and this was no exception. I substituted fresh garlic and flat iron steak (cut across the grain). Flat iron steak makes an excellent gravy and reduces the amount of broth needed. I added celery for texture and paprika (couldn't find anything else that would work) for "earthy hints". I have to go easy on soy, so salt and pepper picked up the slack. The black pepper and plenty of simmer time gave this a really authentic taste. This is good stuff - good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fly by Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States