Easy Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Okay -- slightly flavorless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This was good, with a few alterations. I didn't have peppers so I used carrots,mushroom and broccoli. I was out of soy, so I used teriyaki(and a few splashes extra).Lastly I pounded the meat with a tenderizer and seasoned the steak with pepper and paprika before sauteing in the pan with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
The first time I made this I didn't have any soy sauce and oddly enough, no steaks. But I was desperate for something different for dinner that night and used lean ground beef instead. My family loved it so much that I made it again last night using bottom round. I let it simmer longer than stated, as a matter of fact, I didn't start the rice cooking until after it was simmering, so maybe 30 minutes total. Definitely a keeper that will get used often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I always do my own spin on Chinese and this was no exception. I substituted fresh garlic and flat iron steak (cut across the grain). Flat iron steak makes an excellent gravy and reduces the amount of broth needed. I added celery for texture and paprika (couldn't find anything else that would work) for "earthy hints". I have to go easy on soy, so salt and pepper picked up the slack. The black pepper and plenty of simmer time gave this a really authentic taste. This is good stuff - good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fly by Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I like this recipe. It's really good. I added more water into the cornstarch mixture though so that it's not too high in sodium. But will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I don't like pepper steak but, after making it the first time I'm about to do it again. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snewsom
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I made this recipe for the first time today. It was really GOOD! After reading other reviews & people complaining of tough meat, I bought meat that was already cut for stir fry. Not only did it guarantee an easier prep but the meat was very tender. I doubled the recipe, except still used 1 can of broth. I also added a can of diced tomato for color and nutrition. I also used flour bc I didn't have cornstarch and the sauce still thickened. My family loved it, including my 3 year old minus the bell peppers and onions. It literally took me 15 minutes. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
i followed the recipe to the letter, and it seemed something was missing, i will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wormosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
OMG this was awesome. I changed it up a bit but this is a good base recipe. I have a big family so I got 2lbs of chuck steak and cut it up. Added more garlic and soy sauce than the recipe called for. I also added a bag of frozen chinese vegatables. Very good and will make it many many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryjane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I liked this recipe. I always wondered how to get more sauce with my meat. I actually didn't follow as such not because I did not like the way above it is just because I started my cooking my meat than figure I wanted something different than just steak. What I did was I broiled my seasoned and broiled my steak. I actually simmer the sauce above than added my peppers,onions and meat (that I sliced after I broiled it, I like broiling my meat because even tough meat comes out not so tough)and let it thickened. The peppers really came out in the broth mix. I like this recipe because it is simple and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maldonadolove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States