Easy Peach Crisp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
I tried this again- after a less-than-thrilling result the first time. I took the suggestion of another reviewer- I cut the butter into a yellow cake mix with a pastry cutter, added 1/2 cup of brown sugar and sprinkled the mixture over the peaches. I sprinkled a generous amount of cinnamon on the peaches first. This time it tunred out perfect! It still was sweet and could even get away with cutting the brown sugar back to 1/4 cup. Using the pastry cutter with the butter and cake mix made all the difference in the world. The crust was yummy and the filling was more solid- not a runny mess like the first one I made. A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This recipe is great when modified. To impress, use fresh peaches. After slicing, sprinkle 1/2 cup white sugar over them, plus cinnamon, nutmeg and almond extract. No need for additional water; peaches were juicy enough. I used a white cake mix and mixed in 1/2 cup brown sugar. I used a FROZEN stick of butter and grated it into the cake mix and mixed together with a pastry cutter. After placing it on the peaches I sprinkled a little more cinnamon and nutmeg on top and baked for about an hour and 10 min. It was delicious! Thanks for the recipe Brenda! Can't wait to try this with apples this fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
I made this recipe using fresh peaches. Since many commented the original recipe was too sugary, I used what was called for with fresh and it was just right. It smelled wonderful while cooking, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
SOOOO GOOD!!! I made a streusel out of the cake mix with 1/2 c. each of butter and brown sugar, and I baked it in an 8x8 pan for about 40-45 minutes. I could not stop eating it! If I baked it in a 13x9 pan, as the recipe suggests, I would use twice as many peaches. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
An alternative to cutting the margarine/butter into the cake mix as some reviewers suggest is to use a grater and grate a stick of cold butter evenly over the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
This was awesome!!! I used fresh peaches with orange juice instead of canned peaches. The dish was gone in seconds. We topped it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and dug in! Definately will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEED330

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
The taste of this recipe was fabulous!! I forgot to consider the other reviewer's suggestions, and after reading them, I absolutely would have cut the sugar in half. I liked it but it would be just as good (if not better) without as much sugar. I did have to bake it for about 15-20 minutes longer than suggested, to make it brown and to let the juices soak into the cake mixture. Make sure you poke lots of wholes in the top as well. Also, I thought there was a little too much liquid, but after letting it sit, the juices thickened to an acceptable consistency. Overall a definite keeper, and suitable for company (a real compliment!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dakotaz
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
After reading reviews, I modified this. I used 2(15oz) cans of Del Monte Peaches in Extra Light Syrup. Because of complaints about being too sweet, I poured peaches/juice into pan, then sprinkled 1/4 cup of brown sugar, 1 tsp of Cinammon, 1 tsp of Nutmeg on them. I mixed in a 1/2 tsp of Cornstarch to prevent the runniness some complained of and it was not runny at all. For topping, I used Duncan Hines Butter Golden cake mix, added a cup of Oats, more cinammon, nutmeg, and brown sugar. I used a stick of room temperature butter and mixed with my hands, crumbling it on top of the peaches. Baked for 40 minutes and it came out perfect! Not too sweet at all. Personally I'd like more peach, so I'd add a 3rd can next time. The topping made so much, that I have a 2nd one in the oven using 3 cans of Apricots. Smells wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dakotaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
This was delicious! I did use less sugar as I had seen other people suggest, and I needed to increase oven temp to 400 and cooking time to 45 minutes to get the brownness and bubbling that it's supposed to have. My kids literally fell over each other all the way into the kitchen to get a bowl of this. I can't wait to try this with other fruits like fresh apples....yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
Pretty good recipe and oh so easy! However, sugar needs to be decreased! I only needed 1/4 cup for the entire recipe! Thanks for sharing this! Amy Spino
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States