Easy Peach Crisp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This was pretty good, but not really what I was expecting. It took about an hour to cook and the sugar could actually be left out. It was also pretty runny. I did add crushed pecans to the top for more crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millington, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
With a lot of the recommendations from other reviewers this recipe rates a five. I used fresh peaches (4 or 5) and left the skins on for simplicity. I sprinkled ½ cup white sugar and some cinnamon and nutmeg over the peaches. With the cake mix I cut in a chilled stick of butter with a pastry blender and added ½ cup brown sugar, ½ cup oats for texture, and more cinnamon & nutmeg. It turned out wonderful but very sweet. I think next time I will cut out the brown sugar all together. It seems like the cake mix would be sweet enough on its own. I also found that the peach skins became tough over time. They were barely noticeable the first night, but when I ate the leftovers they were kind of chewy and annoying. So I guess if I knew we were going to finish it in one sitting I’d leave them on for rustic appeal, but otherwise remove them. Thanks for the recipe and everyone’s suggestions. I had a lot of fun with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Made this tonight using others' suggestions and it was good. But mostly it was easy. I used fresh peaches with white sugar and cinnamon and nutmeg, topped with white cake mix with brown sugar and a grated stick of frozen butter (thanks 4 that tip!). My 9x13 pan was otherwise occupied, so I put it in an 8x10, and I definitely think the larger pan would've made it better. And I would suggest cutting the sugar a bit. Couldn't be easier, though. This'll likely become a summer staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I made this tonight and did it exactly like the recipe called for. I then read the reviews and thought maybe I messed up. My hubby loved it, actually my kids and I also loved it. It did take about an hour to get done, but completely worth the wait. I may next time add some nutmeg like some other reviewers did, but would not change anything else except the cook time. Thanks and I for sure will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
The way this recipe is written will not produce a tasty result, as you can see from the other reviewers. I made this recipe as written, and didn't cook long enough (30 minutes). Therefore, there was still a lot of cake mix powder over the "crisp", and it was mushy and undercooked. I was embarrased to serve to guests, and down the disposal it went. Perhaps I'll try again, modifying to the other reviewers suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
My grandma calls this a dump cake. The only difference is that with dump cake, you only dust the fruit with a bit of sugar, flour and cinnamon, then you dump the cake mix over the top and pour a MELTED cube of butter over the cake mix and voila! Bake that sucker until it's golden brown and delicious. The cake mix has nearly enough sugar to sweeten any fruit but rhubarb and strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This recipe is super easy, d'lish, and is filled my house with an amazing aroma. A great recipe to use up all of the jars of peaches my mother-in-law gave us. I made a couple modifications: i used a 9x7 pan instead of a 9x13 pan. I added approx 1/4 c splenda + 2 T sugar to the peaches along with nutmeg, vanilla ex. almond ex, and a generous amount of cinnamon. I mixed white cake mix, a stick of slightly softened butter, 1/8 c splenda brown sugar, and 1/4 c oatmeal with my hand mixer. sprinkled the whole thing with a little more sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Baked for approx 50 min. FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniellaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
As is, I give this about three stars. With the following changes, I give it 5 plus stars: 2 cans of peaches sprinkled with 1/4 brown sugar and the cinnamon Mix the cake mix with the chunks of cold butter in the food processor, then stir in a handful or two of chopped pecans before sprinkling over the fruit. Very quick and easy and also inexpensive. I will make it again, just with the changes, though. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
My husband loved this but I thought it was too sweet. I reduced the sugar to half a cup (1/4 c. brown sugar in the peaches, 1/4 c. white sugar on the top) and sprinkled some nutmeg in with the peaches as well as on the top. I grated the butter instead of cutting it and used an 11 X 8.5. Cooking time was approx. 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I only used about 1/4 of the sugar it called for and I'm glad I did. Very tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States