Easy Peach Crisp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Delicious! And don't let not having fresh peaches stop you from making this... That being said, I made changes too based on previous reviews. Anyways, for the filling in the bottom used a 24 oz jar of peaches in light syrup and mixed in about 1/2 Tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken(omitted sugar), then sprinkled with cinnamon and nutmeg. For the topping, I mixed the yellow cake mix with a 1/2 c. brown sugar then cut in the chilled butter. Sprinkled that over the peaches and then dusted with cinnamon and nutmeg and baked. The interesting thing about this recipe was that amount of peaches seemed to work much better in a 8 x 8 pan, but then there was extra topping. So I ended up making two, each in an 8 x 8 pan, one the peaches and in the other I used cherry pie filling, which was also VERY good... Had one for now and one for later, which was perfect for us, but if you want to have 1 big 8 x 13 one, I would recommend doubling the peaches. Either way, my family loves them both and I love how quick and easy they are to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This was pretty good, a little too sweet. I will definatly be making this again, without the sugar on top & maybe try adding cornstarch to the peach juice to thicken instead of the sugar. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Three words: De-li-cious! I made this using canned pears and a chocolate devil food's cake mix because that's what I had. Sprinkled the pears with a cinnamon-sugar mix & used 1/4 cup (packed) of brown sugar, which I mixed with the cake prep, then I cut in the butter as suggested in any reviews. Baked it at 350F for 50 minutes, poking holes a few times during baking. Only change I would make next time is not put any brown sugar at all, I did find it a tad too sweet. Although, a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top would do the job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burgz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Very good recipe! I took the advice of some reviews and added 1/2 cup brown sugar. I sprinkled that and the cinnamon on the peaches first. I then used a pastry cutter to mix the cake mix and butter together to make the topping. It turned out perfectly. I had to bake mine for about 10 minutes longer or else it would have been runny. Everyone couldn't get over how great it was... and it was so easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kotzebue, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I am giving this three stars only because I altered the recipe. I used fresh peaches and replaced the white sugar with brown sugar. I reduced that to 1/2 cup because the peaches I had were very sweet. I also did not add sugar to the cake mix topping because I think that would have been overkill. I did add cinnamon to the cake topping as others had suggested. Turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
use fresh peaces instead of canned and be sure you peel them, you will need to bake it closer to an hour or more. absolutely divine. experiment with different cake mixes too :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorthvilleLady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is wonderful! I used 5 fresh peaches; Sliced them and added 1/2 cup water. I also added 1 jigger brandy. As other reviewers suggest, reduce the sugar to 1/2 to 3/4 cup for the topping. This recipe really needs butter for the best flavor. I loved how easy it was to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Terrific recipe! I have made this a couple of times, however, I have made a few changes. I put about 1/3 of the cake mix on top of the peaches. I mixed the butter (not a margarine fan here) into the other 2/3 of the cake mix and then put it on top of the peaches. Also, I didn't use a cup of sugar and cinnamon. I felt like it was going to be sweet enough as it was, so I just sprinkled a small amount of cinnamon-sugar across the top and called it good! It turned out great! I have also made this with cherry pie filling and added some crushed pineapple (more of a dump cake recipe.) Haven't tried the apple pie filling and spice cake like some suggest but I am going too! At any rate.. this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lyons, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Fantastic, thanks to all the tips shared. I added only half & half to the peaches...mixed spices and 1/4 c. brown sugar into white cake mix...grated frozen butter and cut it into the mix...topped everything with more brown sugar & cinnamon, and baked for an hour, with the last 15 minutes boosted to 400. Turned out creamy and luscious on the bottom, crisp and spicy on top. A wonderful blend of flavors and textures that needed nothing else. One of the best desserts I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I tried this again- after a less-than-thrilling result the first time. I took the suggestion of another reviewer- I cut the butter into a yellow cake mix with a pastry cutter, added 1/2 cup of brown sugar and sprinkled the mixture over the peaches. I sprinkled a generous amount of cinnamon on the peaches first. This time it tunred out perfect! It still was sweet and could even get away with cutting the brown sugar back to 1/4 cup. Using the pastry cutter with the butter and cake mix made all the difference in the world. The crust was yummy and the filling was more solid- not a runny mess like the first one I made. A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Easy Peach Cobbler

Sweet, simple, peach dessert ready in under an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States