Easy Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I've used this recipe for years and it's always been great. Well, with a few changes it works out great. First, skip the extra sugar if your peaches are already sweet (most fresh ones are if they're ripe and ALL canned peaches are sweet enough). If you're using another fruit, like blackberries or raspberries, then you'd need the extra sugar. Remember, the cake mix has sugar, too. Second, cream the cheese and cake mix together with a pastry cutter or a couple forks until it resembles a crumbly granola-type consistency. Third, melt the butter and pour it over with the liquid (use less liquid if your fruit is really juicy!) Alternately, cream the butter in with the cheese and cake mix (see above). And last--cinnamon is not always appropriate if you are using this with a different fruit. Other options that might sound better to you are nutmeg, vanilla bean specs or vanilla-flavored sugar. Oh, and for a crunchy bonus, sprinkle the top with sliced almonds before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
420 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
OK, I reviewed this before but last night 8/26/07 I made this again and found a better way to make the cobbler. I mixed the cream cheese with the cake mix in a food processor just until mixture gets crumbly. After putting this mixture on the peaches (used fresh this time) I added the butter (melted) over the top of the cobbler. My fiance said that was the best cobbler I have ever made. I give the credit to my food processor. This recipe is now 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This is a really great and easy peach cobbler that is a family favorite. I did do a few revisions though. I left out the water and suger all together (I used 2 large cans of peaches with heavy syrup instead and added 1 cup of the juice instead of fresh). I also cut the cream cheese into the cake mix with a pastry cutter (two knives work just as well) and then sprinkled the mixture on top of the peaches and cinnamon. I also melted the butter and drizzled it on top of the cake mix and increased the baking time to one hour. It comes out great and perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSRTBLND43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This was awesome! BUT Im glad I read the reviews before I made it. I used the canned peaches and added the 1 cup of juice. I also cut the cream cheese into the cake mix {excellent tip} and then drizzled the melted butter on top. I cooked it for about 1 hour and it came out excellent. Nothing was undercooked. What a nice easy recipe to whip up in a hurry!! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
This is such a fast and easy dessert and it is wonderful but I do make it a bit different. We call it" peach delight". We use 1 large can peaches sliced in syrup (can use 2 cans, but I never do), 1 box yellow cake mix, 1 stick butter or margarine, 1/2 cup chopped nuts. No cream cheese. Pour peaches and juice into a 9x13 pan. Sprinkle dry cake mix evenly on top, add nuts over top. Cut marg. into thin slices and arrange on top so that it all gets covered when it melts. Bake 350 for 40-45 min. Maybe more depending on how many peaches you use, just watch. Top with cool whip when ready to serve. This may help with those who thought it was watery. It can't get any easier than this and it's such a nice and yummy dish to serve. Thanks Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
The cream cheese and cake mix make this recipe rich and delicious. I used two large can of peaches instead of fresh peaches. Also, I substituted brown sugar for white sugar. I blended the cream cheese, cake mix and butter with a pastry blender to make sure it was well blended. Also, I added 1/2 t. of nutmeg with the cinnamon. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolina Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I made this as a last miniute dessert for a bbq and it was amazing!!!! So good our friends offered to "clean the pan" and bring it back to me! Next time I might add a little more cream cheese but the recipe is wonderful just as it is! - Ok I have now made this recipe about a dozen times, I have added more cream cheese (2 pkgs instead if 1) and I have used other flavors of cake mix. So far butter pecan cake mix is my favorite with a light dusting of brown sugar over the peaches. The recipe is great as is but is easy and fun to change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
I have mixed emotions about this recipe. For the good side, it tastes really good and although I was worried about the cream cheese it gave it a unique twist. On the bad side it is VERY watery. Also, the cake mix doesn't cook all the way on the top. My suggestions would be to either not add as much water at the beginning, or to mix up the cake mix with the peaches before you cook it. I was rather dissapointed with the appearance, but pleasently suprised with the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
WOW!! This was the easiest and tastiest dessert! 6 yr. old son and I made this and we used Santa Barbara Peaches from our tree! We ate it hot from the oven with Breyer's French Vanilla Ice Cream. Sooooo good! I sure don't agree with the 2 other poor/bad reviews that DIDN'T recommend this?? Mebbe they just plunked it like a dump cake....? It isn't like that. (I don't understand how theirs came out that way either?) What I do recommend for folks using this recipe is to break up ALL of the "chunks" of cake mix with a butter knife as it sits on top of the peaches and h2o/sugar mix BEFORE adding the cream cheese & butter.... and sprinkle an extra 1/8 c. water on top of the finished cobbler (the butter & cream cheese part).... and by doing that, we got the yummiest crust with no underdone portions. My son and hubby loved this -- our company raved over this one! Plus, I was proud the peaches came from my own tree! Kudos to Rebecca for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karisma
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I've been making this for years and the love it. I vary the fruits and mixes quite a bit. My fave is yellow cake mix and just about any fruit. Common sense applies with the liquid. You have fresh fruit fine add some liquid and sugar according to the juice and sugars already in the fruit. Ex: peaches are usually way sweeter and juicer than blueberries so the blueberries get a lil more liquid and sugar. Simple nuff. Frozen fruit...same thing. Canned fruit...same thing. Just add enough to wet the half of topping touching the fruit. The butter and cream cheese will take care of the rest. And as everyone has said just cut the cream cheese and butter into the cake mix a much better blend and lends more of a cobbler consistency. Have fun with it. Don't forget you can add some extract to the syrup. I like almond the best but the possibilities are endless. Try it with a chocolate extract and blueberries with a white cake mix. Nummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Peach Cobbler

Sweet, simple, peach dessert ready in under an hour.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States