Easy Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
GREAT recipe, Rebecca! This is absolutely DELICIOUS AND EASY! I love to cook & bake & am always on the lookout for a great recipes using ingredients I have on hand..& this one is a hands-down WINNER! I buttered the glass casserole dish. I didn't have fresh peaches so I used 2 large cans of peaches in heavy syrup. I dissolved 3 TB of cornstarch into 3 TB cold water & then added it to the syrup with one teaspoon of vanilla & 3 TB of brown sugar, & simmered it in a sauce pan until fairly thick (about 10 min), constantly stirring. I then poured about one cup of the mixture over the peaches. I worked the cubed cold butter & cubed cold cream cheese together with the yellow cake mix in a large bowl until crumbly (only takes about 5 minutes.) Then I brushed the top with melted butter & sprinkled with extra cinnamon before baking for 50+ minutes, keeping an eye on the topping to make sure it didn't burn. Baking it a little longer keeps the bottom of the crust from being soggy & firms up & crisps the crust a little better. The juice-ratio was perfect b/c it was thickened. The topping will soften overnight so for leftovers, I put the cobbler back into the oven on 350 for about 10-15 minutes. Perfect! I've already passed this revised recipe along to several friends after taking it to a family party. I'll make this many, many more years to come and try out different fruits & cake mix flavor. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey McDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This recipe was ok. I made it for church as my dessert, I will probably omit the dabs of cream cheese b/c they sort of just burned. But other than that it was simple and tasty. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This is truly delicious. I used canned peaches, no water or sugar, Trader Joe's yellow cake mix, and substituted mascarpone for the cream cheese. Making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Hart

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
The cake mix did not mix or bake, the peaches came out watery and it took over an hour for it to even come close to baking, while even in the center it was still goo. I would reccommend tweaking this recipe severely before trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
The flavor of the peaches was good. I did not like the topping. I thought it was doughy and too moist. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karisma
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I've been making this for years and the love it. I vary the fruits and mixes quite a bit. My fave is yellow cake mix and just about any fruit. Common sense applies with the liquid. You have fresh fruit fine add some liquid and sugar according to the juice and sugars already in the fruit. Ex: peaches are usually way sweeter and juicer than blueberries so the blueberries get a lil more liquid and sugar. Simple nuff. Frozen fruit...same thing. Canned fruit...same thing. Just add enough to wet the half of topping touching the fruit. The butter and cream cheese will take care of the rest. And as everyone has said just cut the cream cheese and butter into the cake mix a much better blend and lends more of a cobbler consistency. Have fun with it. Don't forget you can add some extract to the syrup. I like almond the best but the possibilities are endless. Try it with a chocolate extract and blueberries with a white cake mix. Nummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Delicious!! I have never made a cobbler, so I wanted to start off w/something easy -- this is it!! I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and used a pastry cutter to mix the cream cheese into the cake, and it came out great! I used canned peaches instead of fresh (hard to find fresh in MI this time of year). I didn't add any sugar, but it still came out kind of sweet so next time I will probably use lite syrup instead of heavy. Otherwise, this was FANTASTIC!!! Super yummy and my house smells divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crsparks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
It was really good.And sooo easy to make.Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by redgurlasu
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Very easy to make. My photo is 12, i put my oven up a little high, so the edges were burned.. however it was really yummy with vanilla ice-cream :.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Good recipe, but definitely needs some changes. I used fresh peaches and didn't understand why it called for cup of water, it would have been a soupy mess!!! I changed the recipe as follows and turned out perfect. Used 12 fresh peaches, 2/3 cup of sugar, 1 teaspon of cinnamon, 2 heaping tablespoons of cornstarch for peach filling. For crust I cut the cream cheese into a yellow cake mix, spread over the peaches and then drizzeled 1/2 cup of melted butter on top. Baked at 350 for 45-50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Peach Cobbler

Sweet, simple, peach dessert ready in under an hour.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States