Easy Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This recipe has some flaws the way it is written (adding too much water, not mixing the cream cheese and cake mix well enough, etc. as mentioned in other reviews) but overall you do end up with a cobbler-like dessert. My problem is that it is WAY too sweet! The cake mix is very sweet already, and you end up with a higher ratio of cake to fruit than is appealing. If I had added a cup of sugar to the peaches it would have been inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Super easy and delicious!!! I make this recipe all the time and everyone loves it! I don't, however, ever use the cream cheese. It's good but not neccessary. I use the canned peaches in heavy syrup and drain all but one can. Dump it all in, top with thin pats of butter and it couldn't be better! Friends always call and ask for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I made this last night for dessert. It is SO good! I took the advice of other reviewers and mixed the cake mix, cream cheese and butter. I could have done a better job of mixing, but I kind of like the way the top turned out. It was gooey and doughy right on top of the peaches and a bit dry and crumbly on top. It turned out delicious! I'll definitely be making this quick version of cobbler again soon. I used brown sugar instead of white, and mixed it, the water and cinnamon together and poured over about 7 sliced peaches in a 9x9 baking dish. I did use the full amount of cake mix, so the topping was a little thicker. Next time I think I'll use less water, or skip it altogether (my peaches froze a bit in the fridge, so it turned out very runny) so it's less syrupy. Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piper_says

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I cut the recipe in half, as I only had 6 peaches, and I used an 8x8 pan. I usually read a lot of reviews before I try a new recipe, and I forgot to this time. At first, I did not "cut" the cream cheese and butter through the cake mixture. About halfway through the bake time, I realized I should have, so I did. The cobbler took over an hour to bake, and it still turned out a little runny, but I think I should have used less liquid. Everybody who ate it, loved it! Next time, I will use less liquid and probably add some cornstarch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Easy and tasty. Can't wait to make it during the winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahBananna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
The family LOVED this accompanied by homemade vanilla ice cream! Next time, I will use less liquid, it was too runny. But yeah!! again, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ardmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
GREAT recipe, Rebecca! This is absolutely DELICIOUS AND EASY! I love to cook & bake & am always on the lookout for a great recipes using ingredients I have on hand..& this one is a hands-down WINNER! I buttered the glass casserole dish. I didn't have fresh peaches so I used 2 large cans of peaches in heavy syrup. I dissolved 3 TB of cornstarch into 3 TB cold water & then added it to the syrup with one teaspoon of vanilla & 3 TB of brown sugar, & simmered it in a sauce pan until fairly thick (about 10 min), constantly stirring. I then poured about one cup of the mixture over the peaches. I worked the cubed cold butter & cubed cold cream cheese together with the yellow cake mix in a large bowl until crumbly (only takes about 5 minutes.) Then I brushed the top with melted butter & sprinkled with extra cinnamon before baking for 50+ minutes, keeping an eye on the topping to make sure it didn't burn. Baking it a little longer keeps the bottom of the crust from being soggy & firms up & crisps the crust a little better. The juice-ratio was perfect b/c it was thickened. The topping will soften overnight so for leftovers, I put the cobbler back into the oven on 350 for about 10-15 minutes. Perfect! I've already passed this revised recipe along to several friends after taking it to a family party. I'll make this many, many more years to come and try out different fruits & cake mix flavor. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey McDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This recipe was ok. I made it for church as my dessert, I will probably omit the dabs of cream cheese b/c they sort of just burned. But other than that it was simple and tasty. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This is truly delicious. I used canned peaches, no water or sugar, Trader Joe's yellow cake mix, and substituted mascarpone for the cream cheese. Making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy2Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
The cake mix did not mix or bake, the peaches came out watery and it took over an hour for it to even come close to baking, while even in the center it was still goo. I would reccommend tweaking this recipe severely before trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States