Easy Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Thank you so much for sharing Rosina! Fantastic recipe! I was scared to use egg whites because of previous bad experiences, so I used meringue powder instead (you can buy that at the grocery store) and came out beautifully. I followed another user's suggestion of crumbling up wax paper then coating it with cornstarch, which worked great - wonderful tip! You can apply the whipping cream a couple hours before serving, but do not apply the fruit until right before because the fruit tends to sink into the cream after a while. The next day after serving, if there are leftovers, the meringue crust becomes very soft and soggy but still holds its flavor and still tasted good to me. Additionally, I added a small layer of homemade vanilla custard (Pastry Cream recipe from this website) since I had some leftover in the frisge to the Pavlova before applying the whipping cream, which enhanced the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
A couple of things are missing from this recipe, I like recipes to include ALL instructions. 1) When folding in the Vanilla, Cornstatch and lemon juice -- it should be blended together first!! She didn't mention this... The first attempt I added them one at a time, and the cornstartch created lumps in the egg whites, and all the folding deflated the whites slightly and had to start again. 2)She doesn't mention that you must only add the toppings of fruit, cusard, or whipped cream moments before serving!! I had a feeling this would be the case, but since I had never made it before, and it was not warned against, I added the toppings about 20mins before serving and lost all the crispness of the egg white -- except for just along the edge. Not the same effect at all. I felt like that should have been mentioned. I agree with a lot of other comments that it was too sweet. I only added a cup of sugar to the egg whites, and added an additional egg white.. and it was still pretty sweet. I am guessing cream of tarter could replace half-a-cup of sugar next time. All in all, not the best recipe on here for Pavlova, but if you add my instruciton, it would come out better then mine did...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Beaton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Everyone loved this dessert, even though I managed to make a flop of it - not the recipe's fault but I think it might have been the vanilla bean paste I added as an extra. I ended up cutting around a plate to make my pancake pav into a nice round shape, and then I piled on the offcuts and creamed it.. it was a lovely impressive looking thing once I was done :o) 5 stars for great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katie
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Had trouble with mine breaking and falling apart. I've never had it before so had nothing to compare to. Also baked for an additional 30 minutes because it didn't seem to cook through, it was incredibly wet. By itself, it was too sweet, I literally felt like I was eating sugar- but topped with home-made whipped cream and strawberries, it was spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Maybe it sounds strange, but this dessert was just nothing especial to our tastes. The meringue was way too sweet and sugary, I used only one cup sugar. Probably not our kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hijaab
Home Town: Bedford, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
this is a no fail, out this world dessert! my boyfriend glares at company when I offer seconds and they accept! to help the pavlova come off the parchment paper i crinkle the paper and dust with cornstarch - works wonders! i always use an assortment of berries and tons of whipping creme! Amazing . Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinyOne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chels
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I had never had any kind of meringue before so I had nothing to compare this to, but it was very good. I followed the recipe exactly making no changes at all and did as another reviewer suggested by lightly crumpling my parchment paper, uncrumpling it and dusting it with cornstarch and had no problems getting it off. I loved the light airy texture and slight chewiness of it and how the kiwis balanced out the sweet. My mom enjoyed the unique taste and texture of this too and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I'm from Australia and this recipe reminded me of the Pavlova my Grandma made. The only thing it was missing was passionfruit but I could not find it at my local supermarket. I was afraid it may not turn out because I live at a high altitude, so I reduced the heat to 275F and cooked for 5 or so min longer but it turned out fine. The only problem I had was that it got stuck to the pan and paper, I think I will follow others advice next time and use a dusting of cornstarch on the paper. However, all who ate it loved it. It tasted very authentic and I will make this one again, a great summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crested Butte, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This is perfect! My husband, who loves light & airy strawberry shortcake, raved about this. I used 1 cup of sugar, as others suggested. I also dusted the parchment with cornstarch and left the meringue in the oven overnight. Just before serving, I topped it with sliced strawberries, and I intermittently added slices of 1 kiwi for presentation. I then drizzled homemade strawberry glaze over it. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pavlova

Crisp meringue layer topped with whipped cream and fresh fruit.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States