Easy Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Very good! I used this recipe along with Ina Garten's for Mixed Berry Pavlova on Easter and we agreed this may be a new tradition! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This recipe was phenomenal. It had a few bumpy spots (like the directions were a little confusing to me and my mom), but I made two and they both came out marvelously. I took it to my family's Easter and it was the hit dish. My great aunt even told me that even though she didn't eat desserts hardly at all, this was one dish that she would actually eat because it was light and had just the perfect amount of sweetness. The amount of sugar called for in the recipe, in my opinion, is perfect. I may not be an expert, but my family is picky and they all loved it, so that has to say something. Multiple people were asking for the recipe, including my great aunt. I also followed many of these fellow reviewers' advice, such as do not use fresh eggs from the fridge, do not open the oven while it is baking, let it cool in the oven overnight, adding a tablespoon of powdered sugar and a teaspoon of vanilla to the heavy cream recipe to balance out the sweetness... It was delicious. I put kiwi fruit, strawberries, and blackberries on top (I was going to add passion fruit juice in with the whipped cream mixture, but the store was not selling any--sad face!). I'm seventeen, have no real, expert training in the kitchen, and I made this dessert by myself with very little difficulty--it was just a bit time consuming (prep time approximately 30 minutes to an hour and a half, depending on equipment and dedication). But it was more than worth it. Trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynzi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was my first ever Pavlova and, WOW, did I get great reviews from the family. Made it for Easter dessert and there was not a scrap left. This is now a family tradition for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I've wanted to make a Pavlova for years and decided to make it for dessert on Easter! I followed the advice of the reviewers and decreased the sugar to 1 cup, piled the Pavlova in a high sided mound about 6 inches across (it did spread out to be about 9 inches), reduced the oven heat to 275 (my oven cooks hot), and left the Pavlova in the oven for an hour after baking. It ended up cracking anyway, but was really quite pretty and very lightly browned. Most importantly, it tasted amazing! The crust melts in your mouth and the inside is like a very soft marshmallow. I served it with lightly sweetened whipped cream and fresh pineapple because the store didn't have strawberries or kiwis (I'm just glad I can get any fruit in Alaska in winter). A couple of tips: like some people said, crumple up waxed paper, smooth it out, and sprinkle a pretty thick dusting of cornstarch on top. Once the Pavlova is out of the oven, let it cool completely before you try to take it off the paper or it will fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
So glad to find a recipe that doesn't use cream of tartar. I was really worried about attempting this dessert and did learn a few things to remember next time. One, reduce sugar to 3/4 or 1 cup. Two, I was so afraid of over doing it that I under did it. The result? A pavlova that spread to a diameter 50% bigger than I had planned. This thing is HUGE!! Three, this recipe was the highest temp setting I'd seen in comparing recipes and I should have lowered it. At 300 my crust took on a toasted marshmellow color and taste. Not bad, just not a snowy-white pavlova. 275 next time; turning off the oven after 1 hr and opening the door while cooling. Otherwise, I hope this becomes an Easter tradition we always look forward to. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I didn't think this would turn out so great, but it did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This is an excellent recipe that I have made several times and always forget to review. It is a great consistency and easy to make. I grew up having pavlova and this recipe is dead on! Mine always crack but you cover it with whipped cream before serving so it doesn't matter-it won't show. I also reduced the sugar to 1 c (still sweet) so topped (immediately before serving) with unsweetened whipped cream flavored with Chambord or Cointreau liquor -I have tried both with excellent results. I then drizzle passion fruit syrup (my family gets it in Australia but maybe could find in an Asian market?) and then top with fresh strawberries, kiwi fruit and berries (blueberries, raspberries and blackberries or any combo). I have also made individual sized for bridal/baby shower and substituted lemon pudding for the whipped cream so I could set out buffet style. Beautiful and delicious dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
It was good and easy to make but I think there wasn't enough mixture for the size f the circle... I think when I make it again it will be about 5 or 6 inches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Love this recipe, it melts in your mouth, with a crispy crust and soft inside like marshmallow. Took pointers from other reviews, like use egg at room temperature, used 1 cup of sugar only, but it was stiil too sweet, I added sugar 1 tablespoon at a time while whipponing, I used the hand mixer at high speed, I take particular care not to overbeat the eggwhite. I folded the cornstarch by sprinkling it on top using a small strainer. Baked it at desired temperature for 1 hour, turn off the oven then left pavlova inside the oven for 1 hour. I used mango mouse to top it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
At the suggestion of other reviewers, I used 1 cup of sugar so my review is based on that modification. This was my first attempt at Pavlova. Having sampled it years ago, I decided I had to make it at least once. I wanted to take it to a Christmas gathering. My first try at this recipe resulted in a tasty but overly browned creation that cracked badly and collapsed. Not to be discouraged, I scoured the reviews and picked up tips online, before trying again. I ended up with a beautiful, sublime Pavlova with a delicate crust and luscious, marshmallowy meringue inside. I topped it with unsweetened whipped cream, kiwis and strawberries. It was marvelous! First of all, Pavlova is like cheesecake in that you must leave the oven closed while baking. My old oven tends to run hot so I nervously opened it several times on the first try which caused the cracking and collapse. On the second try, I left the door shut and baked it for 45 minutes before turning off the oven and allowing it to cool for about an hour before placing the Pavlova on a rack. This time, the color was perfect and there was only minor cracking. The top did fall in a bit afterwards but it wasn't seen under the cream and fruit. I'm not sure I could have done anything to prevent that. I'm so glad I tried making this because it's such a wonderful, different dessert. Next time, I would sweeten the cream, based on the feedback I received. Rosina, thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pavlova

Crisp meringue layer topped with whipped cream and fresh fruit.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States