Easy Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
This was my first time making pavlova. I thought it was surprisingly easy. I followed the recipe, but next time, I think I will cut down on the sugar. Instead of making one large, I made 6 individuals. After reading the reviews about sticking, I decided to use my silicone baking sheet, as I am always nervous using any kind of fat with meringue. I baked for 55 minutes then shut the oven off and left them for an hour. The only problem is that they had a slight caramel color instead of bright white. Next time I will bake a little less and not leave in the oven so long. Served topped with sweetened whipped cream, blackberries and raspberries. What a wonderful presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Made a double recipe. Came out perfectly following the recipe exactly, except (agh!) I left out the vanilla! I took extra care to use a separate dish to separate the eggs (ain't English great!), so I could discard any egg if the yolk broke, which one did. Cleaned the copper liner bowl for my stand mixer with vinegar and salt to be sure there was no greasy residue at all. Used an oven thermometer to verify accurate temperature. Dusted a bit of cornstarch with a sieve over the parchment paper before spooning the meringue on to the paper. Gently nudged the meringue to the edges of the 9" circles (I made two). Didn't overwork it ...it looks nicer loose and billowy. The meringues nearly doubled in size. Left them in oven turned off until serving time. Perfect internal moistness with crispy exterior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Great Pavlova. I followed the directions - though made individual Me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
My go-to recipe for meringue. Make it exactly as written and it turns out well every time. The trickiest bit is getting the egg whites to the perfect stiff not dry consistency. Sometimes I leave in the oven to cool, sometimes I don't. It cracks a bit either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Johnston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Somerset, England, U.K.
Photo by Donna M. Darling
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
My family loved this! It is such a light and delicious dessert. I made another one the next day because it went so fast. This will be a great dessert to make for summer parties. I used strawberries and blueberries for this one. I am excited to try different fruit like blackberries and raspberries. It was so easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna M. Darling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I love Pavlova, but this was my first time attempting to make it. I had no lemon juice, so I use 1/2 tsp. of white vinegar in it's place. It tasted great and the vinegar flavor was no where to be found. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlin Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Absolutely perfect, doubled the recipie and made individual ones. Only lasted a few days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Tueller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I have made this recipe for years and follow it exactly as written. I agree with one reviewer who mentions it is left out that the lemon juice, vanilla and cornstarch should be mixed together first, simply to keep you from overfolding and deflating the meringue. You don't have to mix first, it's just easier. Now, it's going to crack! This is not a big deal though, as you cover it up with cream and fruit. No biggie and it tastes the same. My husband is from Australia, grew up eating pavlova and RAVES about this recipe (he's typically impossible to please too!) I added banana before the cream once & while he said that wasn't traditional, I LOVED it! Just personal taste. The most time consuming part is peeling the kiwi and slicing fruit. Tip: buy fresh, ripe fruit. Regarding eggs, mine were fresh & it still rose very high. This whole recipe takes about 3 hours: make merangue, cook 1 hour, chill at least one hour ( must be COMPLETELY cooled), then put together and place in fridge. I usually serve 1-2 hours after its complete and it still has a chewy marshmellow like center, & crunchy edge. The next day it's ok (if there's any left), but definitely soft & gooey. It's a beautiful dessert - don't be scared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maria Mona Namoloiu
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I don't know what took me so long to make this easy and delicious cake! Thanks! It was gone in almost 60 seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by keysi
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
First time making it and it was a success! Very easy to make and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pavlova

Crisp meringue layer topped with whipped cream and fresh fruit.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States