Easy Pasta Fagioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
I'm giving this 4 stars but I did change the recipe. The amount of tomato sauce (32 oz.) compared to the amount of chicken broth (14 oz.) seemed off to me. I thought it might taste just like eating tomato sauce. Anyway, I reversed the amounts with 32 oz. of 99% fat free broth and 15 oz. of tomato sauce. I may experiment with the proportions in the future. I also added one chopped onion instead of using only one slice & reduced the basil quite a bit, due to family preference. Finally I added whole wheat pasta separately to the soup at the table so the pasta wouldn't get too mushy when the leftovers were reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Very good and similar to the recipe I have been using. My kids don't like to see a lot of beans in this dish. So, I reserved 1/2 cup beans and 1/4 cup chicken broth and pulsed in food processor to make the dish creamier. It also turns out lighter in color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
yum! I upped the oil 3-4 T, upped the garlic to 5 cloves crushed, substituted one of the cans of tomato sauce for a can of diced tomatoes for more texture and added freshly grated parmesan cheese at the end. Don't forget to serve with oven warmed crusty italian bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimviesta

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Quite good, especially on a cool night. I too reversed the quantities of tomato sauce and chicken broth, and I'm glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I too used 2 cups of tomato sauce and 4 cups of chicken broth instead of the other way around. I also chopped up a whole onion and cooked the pasta in the actual soup (didn't see the need to dirty another pan!). I finished it off with some parmesan cheese over each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
Change the name of this recipie to Easy and Delicious! Everyone loved this. I added garlic powder and a pinch of pepper flakes in addition to the ingredients listed. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Thanks for this delicious, easy recipe. I discovered pasta fagioli at Olive Garden and wanted to make it ever since. We liked this version just as well -- and there's no red meat in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Delicious! I reversed the broth and tomato sauce quantities and it was great. Otherwise I think it would be too "tomatoey".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I make a more tasty and complex pasta fagioli, but this one was pretty good for the time it took. I added 1 1/2 c water since the tomato sauce was too thick for a soup. I also wish I only put in 1c pasta. I also used a big can of cannelli beans. overall pretty tasty and really easy to make! I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Delicious!! This has been added to my weekly rotation. I follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Modern Pasta e Fagioli

See how to put a tasty Tennessee twist on Pasta e Fagioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States