Easy Pasta Fagioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
I'm giving this 4 stars but I did change the recipe. The amount of tomato sauce (32 oz.) compared to the amount of chicken broth (14 oz.) seemed off to me. I thought it might taste just like eating tomato sauce. Anyway, I reversed the amounts with 32 oz. of 99% fat free broth and 15 oz. of tomato sauce. I may experiment with the proportions in the future. I also added one chopped onion instead of using only one slice & reduced the basil quite a bit, due to family preference. Finally I added whole wheat pasta separately to the soup at the table so the pasta wouldn't get too mushy when the leftovers were reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Very good and similar to the recipe I have been using. My kids don't like to see a lot of beans in this dish. So, I reserved 1/2 cup beans and 1/4 cup chicken broth and pulsed in food processor to make the dish creamier. It also turns out lighter in color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
yum! I upped the oil 3-4 T, upped the garlic to 5 cloves crushed, substituted one of the cans of tomato sauce for a can of diced tomatoes for more texture and added freshly grated parmesan cheese at the end. Don't forget to serve with oven warmed crusty italian bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimviesta

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Quite good, especially on a cool night. I too reversed the quantities of tomato sauce and chicken broth, and I'm glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I too used 2 cups of tomato sauce and 4 cups of chicken broth instead of the other way around. I also chopped up a whole onion and cooked the pasta in the actual soup (didn't see the need to dirty another pan!). I finished it off with some parmesan cheese over each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
Change the name of this recipie to Easy and Delicious! Everyone loved this. I added garlic powder and a pinch of pepper flakes in addition to the ingredients listed. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Thanks for this delicious, easy recipe. I discovered pasta fagioli at Olive Garden and wanted to make it ever since. We liked this version just as well -- and there's no red meat in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Delicious! I reversed the broth and tomato sauce quantities and it was great. Otherwise I think it would be too "tomatoey".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I make a more tasty and complex pasta fagioli, but this one was pretty good for the time it took. I added 1 1/2 c water since the tomato sauce was too thick for a soup. I also wish I only put in 1c pasta. I also used a big can of cannelli beans. overall pretty tasty and really easy to make! I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Delicious!! This has been added to my weekly rotation. I follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Modern Pasta e Fagioli

See how to put a tasty Tennessee twist on Pasta e Fagioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States