Easy Passion Fruit Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
We all LOVED this ~ absolutely delicious! If you use frozen fruit juice concentrate (as recipe indicates), it will be too sweet, guaranteed ~ as some reviewers found out. Instead, use Goya brand "Frutta - 100% Pure Passion Fruit Pulp", which is a puree with no sugar or water added. The flat plastic bags of "Frutta" can be found in the freezer section of possibly your regular grocer's, & definitely at Hispanic & Asian stores. At a regular grocer look in the freezer with Hispanic or Asian foods, & where frozen juices & fruits are located. ~~~ I highly recommend this to anyone. It is also super simple: 3 ingredients, 1 to 1-1/2 minutes of blending, 30 mins. of refrigeration (for a slightly firmer texture). Amazingly, a serving size in an espresso cup satisfies as nicely as a larger serving in a ramekin. This may very well become your go-to recipe for summertime, for a creamy~dreamy ending to a tropical meal, for special occasions ~ or more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
For those of you who say it's too sweet...I did not realize that the frozen concentrate juice has sugar (it might have other juices, too?). I listed the concentrate juice as I figured that is the main or only way some of you could get passion fruit juice! The BEST THING TO USE IS THE JUICE FROM THE FRUIT ITSELF, such as we do here in Brazil. Then it will not be so sweet because passionfruit is a very tart fruit, almost like lemon! That is why this recipe also works well with lemon or lime juice. So, certainly, if you use the frozen concentrate...lessen the amount of sweetened cond. milk, but I'm not sure how it will turn out, because then there will be less cream. *By the way, this makes a marvelous ice cream. Just put it in the freezer instead of in the refrigerator-you don't even have to beat it again later. Yummo! *Another option is to use "light" cream and "light" sw. condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinhais, Paraná, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
The recipe was really easy but the mousse was WAY TOO sweet. Is was a good flavor but I could only have three bites before I had to put down my spoon (and I have a big sweet tooth). It also was more of a pudding texture then as light and fluffy as a mousse should be. The adventurous cook could probably make this better...but as it stands it is only ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sundins
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I LOVED this dessert! I used 100% pure passion fruit puree and found the final result to be just sweet enough and wonderfully tangy (if frozen passion fruit concentrate has sugar added, I think it would be too sweet). Such a simple recipe and I received rave reviews from the taste-testers. It will definitely be a "go-to" recipe for dinner parties. I want to try it with lemon or lime next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Want to impress family and friends? Serve this inside the hull of the fruit. Just cut off top of fruit, fill and chill. Perfect serving size too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Super Super Easy and your friends will think you spent hours. Its worth it to get the passionfruit pulp (Goya is the brand I use). I used 1/2 the amount of the sweetened condensed milk (plus a few spoons) and it was tangy and sweet the way maracuja is served in south america. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as stated. It sounded very good in theory, and it was incredibly easy. But it really is so very sickeningly sweet that I couldn't eat it. I tried using some fresh blueberries - their tartness helped a tiny bit, but I could only eat a few mouthfuls. The puree, or pulp, that people are substituting isn't available in my area, but then that's not what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I would for sure use the frozen fruit puree. With the juice concentrate it tasted like nothing but sweetened condensed milk and was waaaaaay overly sweet! I used pineapple orange concentrate since I could not find passion fruit juice or any type of frozen puree. I have hiiiiiggggghhhh hopes this will turn out with the frozen fruit rather than the juice but as written we just did not enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I found this extremely easy to make. The flavor of passion fruit is very similar to guava. I almost liked it but not enough to make it again. Sorry. I guess I don't like passion fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is an easy dessert and quite delicious, even though it doesn't include chocolate...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States