Easy Passion Fruit Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Very easy and tasty dessert. I used homemade unsweetened passion fruit puree and it was still too sweet for my taste. Will experiment with the quantities of sweetened condensed milk and cream to come up with a less sweet version. By using non-fat sweetened condensed milk and unsweetened passion fruit puree the Weight Watcher's Points Plus for this recipe is only 4 points for a 1/4 cup serving. Considering the sweetness of this dessert 1/4 cup is a perfect portion size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Delicious. Be cautious using frozen juice concentrates, as many have added sugar already, especially lemon or lime. If a frozen juice concentrate doesn't add sugar, it's still going to be too sweet for this recipe. If, however, the concentrate indicates that you need to add sugar to it, it will work well with this recipe and be delicious! There are a few different brands of passion fruit that you can get. Whichever you choose, make sure it doesn't already have sugar in it, or drastically reduce the amount of sweetened condensed milk you use. Something else to try, after making the mousse, freeze it. It makes an absolutely decadent ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Just make sure the juice is unsweetened, it's one of my favorite desserts of all time - I usually just make it with the juice of one fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I used one 14oz pkg of Goya Passion Fruit puree (unsweetened), one 14oz can (1 1/2 cups) of sweetened condensed milk and 1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream. I didn't want to have any left over puree or condensed milk. It still could've been a tiny bit tarter for my taste, but it was still delicious. It would've been WAY too sweet with sweetened fruit juice concentrate. Glad to have the basic recipe to work off of. Would not have thought of using condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is an easy dessert and quite delicious, even though it doesn't include chocolate...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Want to impress family and friends? Serve this inside the hull of the fruit. Just cut off top of fruit, fill and chill. Perfect serving size too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
For those of you who say it's too sweet...I did not realize that the frozen concentrate juice has sugar (it might have other juices, too?). I listed the concentrate juice as I figured that is the main or only way some of you could get passion fruit juice! The BEST THING TO USE IS THE JUICE FROM THE FRUIT ITSELF, such as we do here in Brazil. Then it will not be so sweet because passionfruit is a very tart fruit, almost like lemon! That is why this recipe also works well with lemon or lime juice. So, certainly, if you use the frozen concentrate...lessen the amount of sweetened cond. milk, but I'm not sure how it will turn out, because then there will be less cream. *By the way, this makes a marvelous ice cream. Just put it in the freezer instead of in the refrigerator-you don't even have to beat it again later. Yummo! *Another option is to use "light" cream and "light" sw. condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinhais, Paraná, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as stated. It sounded very good in theory, and it was incredibly easy. But it really is so very sickeningly sweet that I couldn't eat it. I tried using some fresh blueberries - their tartness helped a tiny bit, but I could only eat a few mouthfuls. The puree, or pulp, that people are substituting isn't available in my area, but then that's not what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I found this extremely easy to make. The flavor of passion fruit is very similar to guava. I almost liked it but not enough to make it again. Sorry. I guess I don't like passion fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
We all LOVED this ~ absolutely delicious! If you use frozen fruit juice concentrate (as recipe indicates), it will be too sweet, guaranteed ~ as some reviewers found out. Instead, use Goya brand "Frutta - 100% Pure Passion Fruit Pulp", which is a puree with no sugar or water added. The flat plastic bags of "Frutta" can be found in the freezer section of possibly your regular grocer's, & definitely at Hispanic & Asian stores. At a regular grocer look in the freezer with Hispanic or Asian foods, & where frozen juices & fruits are located. ~~~ I highly recommend this to anyone. It is also super simple: 3 ingredients, 1 to 1-1/2 minutes of blending, 30 mins. of refrigeration (for a slightly firmer texture). Amazingly, a serving size in an espresso cup satisfies as nicely as a larger serving in a ramekin. This may very well become your go-to recipe for summertime, for a creamy~dreamy ending to a tropical meal, for special occasions ~ or more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States