Easy Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Easy and came out just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnny Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This is my go to recipe for brown rice. We love it. It turns out perfect every time. I use chicken or beef broth sometimes. I have also replaced butter with olive oil. Keeper. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
OMG so easy and efficient. this is BETTER than the rice cooker which is designed to cook brown rice. Using this method has won my family over. Thanks bunches!!!#
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by South Carolina Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Adjusted recipe to make 5 servings. Baked for 50 minutes. Rice came out perfectly cooked, fluffy, with a light nutty taste. Will be eating more brown rice as a healthier alternative to white. Family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I now use this recipe ALL of the time and it never fails. Just remember to cover it with foil. I also like doing large batch and putting the leftovers in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AshleeWix
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I can cook white rice with my eyes closed, but have tried about three times unsuccessfully to cook brown rice in the last week or so. On the stove top - Too crunchy and undercooked, I could probably get this right but feel like it's too much of a hassle to watch rice boil for 40+ minutes. In the pressure cooker - Turned to gooey gluey mush. Rice cooker - Almost successful but stuck to the bottom and was inconsistent in texture. After reading all the reviews I had hope for this method of cooking so decided to give it a go. I used my Breville Smart Oven and used the bake setting, rack on the bottom, set to 200?. I cooked the rice in a Wiltshire porcelain enamel baking dish and covered with foil. I stuck pretty close to the recipe, using roughly 1 1/4 cup of rice, a pinch of salt, 2 teaspoons of butter and 3 cups of boiled water. My only deviation was adding a small splash of roast garlic infused olive oil. It smelled great even before putting it in the oven. I wrapped the foil very tight when covering it and set the oven for an hour. I was excited to check the rice when it was done and wasn't too careful with removing the foil - A LOT of steam came out. I fluffed it with a fork and am not going to lie, was pretty ecstatic that out came perfectly cooked brown rice. It smelled amazing and aromatic with the garlic olive oil, the flavour was subtle but great. I'll be using this method from now on, it's simple and easy, with many possibilities for flavours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
LOVED this rice or method of making brown rice. I usually make it in a rice cooker and it is so chewy. I lined my oval ceramic dish with foil, sprayed it with PAM, and added the ingredients with rice first. I microwaved the water right in my measuring cup in the microwave. I put the baking dish on a sheet pan and stirred the ingredients quickly. I covered with another sheet of foil not having a lid. After about an hour and 5~10 additional minutes I removed and the rice was nice and fluffy. This is my go to method now, easy clean-up and no stirring or watching. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I'm a late comer to using brown rice and haven't been able to convince my 15 year old son with the various recipes I've tried--until this one! We all enjoyed it so much that I won't even be bothered by the one hour cooking time; it is well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellyt
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I have made another brown rice recipe for years, but this one is GREAT for a quick version!!! I did as another person, I used water and beef broth, added some mushrooms and used onion powder for flavor. Everything else, I did as recipe said. I actually used quick rice because that's what I had. LOVE THIS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Love it I double the recipe for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States